The F1 teams have agreed to further changes to the points scoring system ahead of the 2010 season.

With the top ten finishers set to pick up World Championship points this year, the latest incarnation of the scheme features a 7-point gap between first and second places, rewarding race winners more.

This should make Bernie Ecclestone happier!

The FIA is now likely to accept the proposal to which all teams have agreed, with any change to the sporting regulations requiring the consent of all entrants. The first top 10 points system was introduced in mid-December, with 25 going the way of the winner and intervals of four then separating positions 1 to 4.

However, the latest version of the system would see the runner-up pocket 18 points as opposed to 20.

"I think there is some tuning to the middle range of the points system," Mercedes Team Principal Ross Brawn explained to Reuters at the team’s 2010 presentation in Stuttgart on Monday.

"There is a bit of a disparity in the gaps…it has to be ratified by the F1 commission but that’s the proposal."

The new system would see drivers scoring as follows:
Winner 25
Second 18
Third 15
Fourth 12
Fifth 10
Sixth 8
Seventh 6
Eighth 4
Ninth 2
Tenth 1

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.