The 2010 grid will look quite different

The World Touring Car Championship has unveiled its full entry list for the 2010 season.

Despite the losses of several entries, team bosses are remaining upbeat in the wake of the effects of the global financial crisis that forced many entrants to curb spending.

The factory SEAT team made a well-publicised withdrawal, BMW scaled its five-car operation down to a two-car team, and Lada has also unexpectedly pulled out.

Bolstering the grid is SUNRED Engineering, which will run five SEAT Leon TDIs – four under the SR Sport banner with SEAT factory support.

"We are proud that we managed to maintain a high quality field in this challenging economic environment," series promoter Marcello Lotti has said. "Most of our regular drivers and teams are still with us, which guarantees continuity in the growth of the championship’s popularity.

"We are grateful to BMW and Chevrolet, who renewed their trust in the championship confirming their factory programmes. And we also thank SEAT because, although no longer competing with an official team, the brand made a big effort to guarantee a strong representation of customer teams that will be provided by SEAT Sport with the necessary technical support.

“It is very rewarding for us to see young drivers and teams joining the championship. The new entries from Bamboo-Engineering and Zengö-Dension Team, the arrival of promising youngsters like Michelisz and Vaulkhard and the full commitment of drivers coming from new regions – Bennani from Morocco and O’Young from China – are testament to the WTCC’s worldwide reputation.”

When quizzed about Lada’s unexpected pull-out, Lotti simply had this to say: “We were surprised and disappointed, because in 2009 they undertook a commitment for a three-year programme. This is now a matter for the FIA to deal with.”

The full entry list is as follows:

1. Gabriele Tarquini SR Sport SEAT León 2.0 TDI
2. Tom Coronel SR Sport SEAT León 2.0 TDI
3. Tiago Monteiro SR Sport SEAT León 2.0 TDI
4. Jordi Gené SR Sport SEAT León 2.0 TDI
5. Norbert Michelisz Zengö-Dension Team SEAT León 2.0 TDI
6. Yvan Muller RML Chevrolet Chevrolet Cruze LT
7. Robert Huff RML Chevrolet Chevrolet Cruze LT
8. Alain Menu RML Chevrolet Chevrolet Cruze LT
10. Augusto Farfus BMW Team RBM BMW 320si
11. Andy Priaulx BMW Team RBM BMW 320si
15. Franz Engstler Liqui Moly Team Engstler BMW 320si
16. Andrei Romanov Liqui Moly Team Engstler BMW 320si
17. Michel Nykjær SUNRED Engineering SEAT León 2.0 TDI
18. Fredy Barth SUNRED Engineering SEAT León 2.0 TDI
19. Harry Vaulkhard Bamboo Engineering Chevrolet Lacetti
20. Darryl O’Young Bamboo Engineering Chevrolet Lacetti
21. Mehdi Bennani Wiechers-Sport BMW 320si
23. Marin Čolak Čolak Racing Team SEAT León 2.0 TFSI
24. Kristian Poulsen Poulsen Motorsport BMW 320si
25. Sergio Hernández Scuderia Proteam BMW 320si
26. Stefano D’Aste Scuderia Proteam BMW 320si
The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.