Muller took pole on his maiden Chevrolet outing

Yvan Muller took the 2010 World Touring Car Championship season’s first pole position in his very first outing for the Chevrolet team. The Frenchman clinched pole position in the dying seconds of an action-packed qualifying session.

At the end of Q1, it was a Chevrolet trifecta, with Robert Huff heading the timesheets from Alain Menu and Muller.

Jordi Gené provided a welcome boost for SEAT with his improved performance IN Q2, forcing Muller to pull out everything on his final lap to retake pole from the Spaniard.

It is an all-Chevrolet second row, with Alain Menu third ahead of Robert Huff. Gabriele Tarquini is the second-quickest SEAT in fifth position.

Despite a strong showing in the opening practice sessions, the factory BMWs could not repeat the same form in Q2, and Andy Priaulx will start in sixth ahead of hometown favourite August Farfus.

SEAT’s Tiago Monteiro was a high-profile casualty at the end of Q1, beaten to the final Q2 berth by his team-mate Tom Coronel in the final seconds of the session.

Stefano D’Aste finished quickest of the Independent Trophy drivers, ahead of Darryl O’Young.

2010 Round 1 Qualifying Times:

Q2 Time


Team Q1 Time
1. Yvan Muller RML Chevrolet Cruze LT 1:23.923 1:23.725
2. Jordi Gené SR Sport SEAT León TDI 1:24.157 1:23.757
3. Alain Menu RML Chevrolet Cruze LT 1:23.730 1:23.829
4. Robert Huff RML Chevrolet Cruze LT 1:23.630 1:23.833
5. Gabriele Tarquini SR Sport SEAT León TDI 1:24.125 1:23.834
6. Andy Priaulx RBM Team BMW 320si 1:24.034 1:23.955
7. Augusto Farfus RBM Team BMW 320si 1:24.006 1:23.981
8. Michel Nykjær SUNRED SEAT León TDI 1:24.516 1:24.161
9. Tom Coronel SR Sport SEAT León TDI 1:24.558 1:24.325
10. Norbert Michelisz Zengö-Denison SEAT León TDI 1:24.019 1:24.926
11. Tiago Monteiro SR Sport SEAT León TDI 1:24.562  
12. Fredy Barth SUNRED SEAT León TDI 1:24.983  
13. Stefano D’Aste (I) Scuderia Proteam BMW 320si 1:25.153  
14. Darryl O’Young (I) Bamboo Chevrolet Lacetti 1:25.328  
15. Mehdi Bennani (I) Wiechers Sport BMW 320si 1:25.486  
16. Franz Engstler (I) Team Engstler BMW 320si 1:25.547  
17. Sergio Hernández (I) Scuderia Proteam BMW 320si 1:25.826  
18. Harry Vaulkhard (I) Bamboo Chevrolet Lacetti 1:25.841  
19. Andrei Romanov (I) Team Engstler BMW 320si 1:27.567  

(I) – denotes Independent Trophy driver

[Image via FIA WTCC website]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.