Tarquini was quickest in final practice

Defending WTCC champion Gabriele Tarquini has ended BMW’s domination of the opening round of the 2010 WTCC season at Curitiba, toppling home favourite August Farfus off the top of the timesheets.

Tarquini’s fastest time of the session was a 1:24.664, with Farfus and his team-mate Andy Priaulx both setting times in the 1:24.7 range.

The Chevrolets completed positions 4 to 6, with Yvan Muller ahead of Robert Huff and Alain Menu.

Tom Coronel, Jordi Gené and Tiago Monteiro followed in a SEAT trio, and Franz Engstler was the 10th-quickest driver and fastest of the Independent Trophy drivers.

2010 Round 1 Free Practice 2 Session Times:

  Driver Team Time
1. Gabriele Tarquini SR Sport SEAT León TDI 1:24.664
2. Augusto Farfus RBM Team BMW 320si 1:24.713
3. Andy Priaulx RBM Team BMW 320si 1:24.798
4. Yvan Muller RML Chevrolet Cruze LT 1:24.948
5. Robert Huff RML Chevrolet Cruze LT 1:24.967
6. Alain Menu RML Chevrolet Cruze LT 1:25.069
7. Tom Coronel SR Sport SEAT León TDI 1:25.198
8. Jordi Gené SR Sport SEAT León TDI 1:25.228
9. Tiago Monteiro SR Sport SEAT León TDI 1:25.383
10. Franz Engstler (I) Team Engstler BMW 320si 1:25.539
11. Norbert Michelisz Zengö-Denison SEAT León TDI 1:25.572
12. Mehdi Bennani (I) Wiechers Sport BMW 320si 1:25.859
13. Michel Nykjær SUNRED SEAT León TDI 1:25.918
14. Sergio Hernández (I) Scuderia Proteam BMW 320si 1:26.124
15. Darryl O’Young (I) Bamboo Chevrolet Lacetti 1:26.234
16. Stefano D’Aste (I) Scuderia Proteam BMW 320si 1:26.314
17. Fredy Barth SUNRED SEAT León TDI 1:26.517
18. Harry Vaulkhard (I) Bamboo Chevrolet Lacetti 1:28.202
19. Andrei Romanov (I) Team Engstler BMW 320si 1:28.886

(I) – denotes Independent Trophy driver

[Image via FIA WTCC website]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.