There was action aplenty in Curitiba

Gabriele Tarquini kicked off his title defence by taking victory in Race 2 of the 2010 World Touring Car Championship season, with the opening round held at Curitiba in Brazil.

SEAT took a comfortable quinella, with Tarquini’s team-mate Jordi Gené finishing in second place.

With the top-eight places from Race 1 reversed to form the first four rows of the grid for Race 2, Gené started from the front row alongside Tom Coronel and made a clean getaway from the standing start to lead into Turn 1.

The Dutchman’s race would effectively finish, after contact with Robert Huff sent him off-track and into the pits for repairs.

Another driver to come to grief was Andy Priaulx, who was carved up by Tarquini on the run into the first corner, suffering a damaged steering arm as a result.

With two rivals seemingly out of the way, that meant Tarquini only had to leapfrog Augusto Farfus to slot in behind his team-mate. He duly passed the Brazilian, and then passed Gené into Turn 1 on the third lap to take the lead. Gené offered no resistance to the attack from his team-mate’s clinically executed move.

Against expectations, the two SEATs kept clear of the chasnig pack, and even began pulling a gap to the scrapping Chevrolets of Huff, Alain Menu and Yvan Muller, and Farfus’ BMW.

Huff ran wide and allowed both Menu and Muller through, and the spent the remainder of his race fending off Farfus. Menu was able to keep Muller ay bay to take back-to-back podium finishes.

Tiago Monteiro, Michel Nykjær, Norbert Michelisz and Sergio Hernández completed the top ten. Nykjær finished as the best overall rookie, and Hernández was the top Independent Trophy driver.

Race 2 Final Classification:

  Driver Team Laps Result
1. Gabriele Tarquini SR Sport SEAT León TDI 14 20:13.311
2. Jordi Gené SR Sport SEAT León TDI 14 + 1.276
3. Alain Menu RML Chevrolet Cruze LT 14 + 5.407
4. Yvan Muller RML Chevrolet Cruze LT 14 + 5.985
5. Robert Huff RML Chevrolet Cruze LT 14 + 8.295
6. Augusto Farfus RBM Team BMW 320si 14 + 8.596
7. Tiago Monteiro SR Sport SEAT León TDI 14 + 10.419
8. Michel Nykjær SUNRED SEAT León TDI 14 + 11.808
9. Norbert Michelisz Zengö-Denison SEAT León TDI 14 + 17.576
10. Sergio Hernández (I) Scuderia Proteam BMW 320si 14 + 24.244
11. Franz Engstler (I) Team Engstler BMW 320si 14 + 24.643
12. Mehdi Bennani (I) Wiechers Sport BMW 320si 14 + 30.072
13. Harry Vaulkhard (I) Bamboo Chevrolet Lacetti 14 + 30.923
14. Fredy Barth SUNRED SEAT León TDI 14 + 39.780
15. Stefan D’Aste (I) Scuderia Proteam BMW 320si 14 + 40.328
16. Darryl O’Young (I) Bamboo Chevrolet Lacetti 14 + 40.481
  Not Classified      
  Tom Coronel SR Sport SEAT León TDI 2 Damage
  Andy Priaulx RBM Team BMW 320si 1 Accident
DNS Andrey Romanov (I) Team Engstler BMW 320si    

(I) – denotes Independent Trophy driver

[Image via FIA WTCC website]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.