Sutil Quickest Bahrain P1

Adrian Sutil can lay claim to being first at something, and for once not the first man to crash out.

He actually topped the timesheets for the opening free practice session in the first round of the 2010 season at Bahrain’s Sakhir circuit.

Sutil defied conventional thinking by heading the more fancied Ferraris of Fernando Alonso (2nd) and Felipe Massa (4th), with Robert Kubica surprising a few people by being the third-quickest driver in the session.

Both McLarens and Michael Schumacher managed to achieve top-ten times at the end of the 90-minute session, which also saw the Hispania team log its first laps.

It would appear that Adrian’s pace-setting laps weren’t a flash in the pan, as team-mate Vitantonio Liuzzi finished the session seventh-quickest.

The hugely anticipated practice session was greeted with clear skies, and Jarno Trulli was the first driver to scurry out of pit lane in his Lotus. Both he and team-mate Heikki Kovalainen notched up 36 laps between them, but the T127s languished at the bottom of the timesheets behind Timo Glock’s Virgin Racing VR-01. His team-mate Lucas di Grassi did not post a flying lap.

Neither did the crew at Hispania Racing, who started the session with no seats on their pit lane gantry and a half-built car for Bruno Senna. A few of the other teams wrote on their official Twitter feeds that the team has chosen not to install seats because its cars wouldn’t last long enough on the circuit!

Eventually the young Brazilian’s car was completed, and it was an emotional moment as the Senna name returned to the F1 track for a series of untimed installation laps.

Karun Chandhok remained the garage the entire session while his car was being completed.

2010 Bahrain GP Practice 1 Session Times:

  Driver Team Time Laps
1. Adrian Sutil Force India Mercedes 1:56.583 18
2. Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:56.766 18
3. Robert Kubica Renault 1:57.041 19
4. Felipe Massa Ferrari 1:57.055 19
5. Jenson Button McLaren Mercedes 1:57.068 19
6. Lewis Hamilton McLaren Mercedes 1:57.163 19
7. Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India Mercedes 1:57.194 19
8. Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP 1:57.199 15
9. Mark Webber Red Bull Racing 1:57.255 17
10. Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP 1:57.662 16
11. Jaime Alguersuari Toro Rosso Ferrari 1:57.722 18
12. Nico Hülkenberg Williams Cosworth 1:57.894 20
13. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing 1:57.943 17
14. Sébastien Buemi Toro Rosso Ferrari 1:58.399 13
15. Rubens Barrichello Williams Cosworth 1:58.782 11
16. Vitaly Petrov Renault 1:58.880 13
17. Pedro de la Rosa Sauber Ferrari 2:00.250 18
18. Kamui Kobayashi Sauber Ferrari 2:01.388 11
19. Timo Glock Virgin Racing Cosworth 2:03.680 8
20. Heikki Kovalainen Lotus Cosworth 2:03.848 21
21. Jarno Trulli Lotus Cosworth 2:03.970 15
22. Lucas di Grassi Virgin Racing Cosworth no time 2
23. Bruno Senna HRT Cosworth no time 3
24. Karun Chandhok HRT Cosworth no time 0

[Image via ITV-F1]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.