(Our ever-observant Indy reporter Matt Lennon has enjoyed an exciting qualifying session for tonight’s INDY Honda Grand Prix of Alabama, where Will Power will start for the best possible position to make it a hat-trick of race victories: pole position.) 

Aussie Aussie Aussie Oi! Oi! Oi!

Could Will Power joint the ranks of Scott Dixon, Dan Wheldon and Kenny Brack by winning three IndyCar races in a row? Or join the ranks of Sebastian Bourdais, Paul Tracy and A.J. Foyt by winning the FIRST three IndyCar races of a season in a row? By taking pole position for the inaugural IndyCar Grand Prix of Alabama, due to take place tomorrow morning Australian-time, Power has given himself the best chance possible.

Will Power Pole Position

Dreyer & Reinbold will also be celebrating with Mike Conway putting himself 2nd on the grid. Despite being slightly more than 6 tenths slower, Ryan Briscoe will surely be disappointed with 9th place, however as a road racing specialist, don’t write him off. Three races in, Jimmy Vasser and Kevin Kalkhoven’s investments in Takuma Sato are now paying dividends with the Formula 1 veteran qualifying an impressive 6th.

Those who are not familiar with the IndyCar qualifying format will probably feel confused after seeing the times on the grid below. Put as simply as possible, the field of 25 cars is split into two groups of 12 and 13 cars respectively, with the fastest six from each group going through into a Top-12 shootout. Positions 13 through 25 on the grid are determined depending on which session they participated in, with the odd numbered positions going to drivers in Session 1, and the even numbered grid positions going to drivers in Session 2.

The fastest six from the Top-12 shootout go through into the Firestone Fast-6 session, with positions 7 through 12 going to those who did not make it into this session. Told you it was simple.

Honda Grand Prix of Alabama – Final Qualifying Results:

  Driver   Team Time
1. Will Power Verizon Team Penske 1:10.135
2. Mike Conway Dreyer & Reinbold Racing 1:10.650
3. Helio Castroneves Team Penske 1:10.656
4. Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport 1:11.070
5. Scott Dixon Target Chip Ganassi Racing 1:11.355
6. Takuma Sato KV Racing Technology 1:11.438
7. Dario Franchitti Target Chip Ganassi Racing 1:10.630
8. Tony Kanaan Andretti Autosport 1:10.690
9. Ryan Briscoe Team Penske 1:10.760
10. E.J. Viso KV Racing Technology 1:10.775
11. Justin Wilson Dreyer & Reinbold Racing 1:10.775
12. Mario Moraes KV Racing Technology 1:11.521
13. Simona de Silvestro HVM Racing 1:11.026
14. Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport 1:10.744
15. Graham Rahal Sarah Fisher Racing 1:11.149
16. Alex Lloyd Dale Coyne Racing 1:10.952
17. Hideki Mutoh Newman/Haas/Lanigan Racing 1:11.285
18. Raphael Matos Dragon/de Ferran Motorsports 1:11.050
19. Danica Patrick Andretti Autosport 1:11.534
20. Vitor Meira A.J. Foyt Enterprises 1:11.134
21. Alex Tagliani FAZZT Race Team 1:11.566
22. Mario Romancini Conquest Racing 1:11.602
23. Dan Wheldon Panther Racing 1:11.609
24. Milka Duno Dale Coyne Racing 1:15.142
25. Bertrand Baguette BEL Conquest Racing RACB 1:11.980

[Original image via IndyCar official site]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.