Force India Mirrors Ferrari Mirrors

Force India has already reacted to the FIA’s new ban on outboard rearview mirror mountings, installing more conventional mountings for use at this weekend’s Chinese GP.

To counter concerns raised by drivers regarding poor rearward visibility, the FIA moved quickly and announced at last fortnight’s Malaysian GP that mirrors would no longer be allowed to be mounted on flimsy aerodynamic bodywork stemming from the cockpit sides.

The ban was originally meant to come into effect this weekend, but it as pushed back to the upcoming Spanish GP to give the teams more time to make the required changes to their cars.

The teams with cars that will not comply once the ban takes effect are Red Bull, Ferrari, Williams, Sauber, HRT, and of course Force India.

The ban does not affect the other competing teams.

[Images via AUTOSPORT]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.