Jim Beam Racing’s James Courtney had a clean sweep in the Ipswich 300 V8 Supercars event at Queensland Raceway, winning the second 200km leg of the weekend after polesitter and early race leader Jamie Whincup was forced into retirement.

Whincup – who replicated his earlier trick of pitting earlier than the rest of the runners to vault himself up the order – was leading and looked set for a good battle with Courtney, but his aspirations went up in smoke on lap 27 when the race restarted after a Safety Car intervention. He retired on the next lap with a broken rocker.

The Safety Car interruption to clear Jason Bargwanna’s retired Holden compressed the field, and Whincup’s stricken restart allowed Garth Tander and Courtney past into Turn 1. Courtney would pass Tander on the next lap to take the lead, which he would never let go of until the chequered flag.

Runner-up was Tander, who briefly lost second place to Russell Ingall during the second round of pit stops, but took it back from the Supercheap Auto driver with 10 laps to go.

Shane van Gisbergen had another impressive race, with the young Kiwi storming through the order in the latter stages of the race, passing Ingall for third and almost snatching second from Tander.

Ingall finished fourth, having lost ground and pace with a decision to make his second pit stop earlier than the majority of runners. Behind him was Craig Lowndes, salvaging some pride for Team Vodafone after his team-mate Whincup’s retirement. Lowndes staged an impressive late-race charge when his final (very late) pit stop dropped him to 11th.

Michael Caruso had an outstanding race after qualifying a lowly 27th. He rose 10 places before his first pit stop, and gained further ground when the Bargwanna Saferty Car came out. By mid-race he was up to seventh, and peaked with fourth before his second pit stop. Perhaps making his second stop cost him too much pace in the closing stages, but a ninth-placed result was an impressive outcome.

Caruso’s team-mate Lee Holdsworth had a dreadful weekend. He god bogged down from his fifth-placed grid position and was swamped by the pack on the run into Turn 1. A slight move to the right was enough to see him clip- the back-left corner of Mark Winterbottom’s Ford, and pitch him straight into the concrete at speed. Holdsworth was able to limp to the pits for repairs, and finished in last place, 10 laps down.


Race 2 Final Classification:

  Driver Team Result
1. James Courtney Jim Beam Racing Ford 1:26:25.081
2. Garth Tander TOLL HRT Holden + 11.516
3. Shane van Gisbergen SP Tools Racing Ford + 13.469
4. Russell Ingall Supercheap Auto Racing Holden + 16.723
5. Craig Lowndes Team Vodafone Holden + 16.976
6. Michael Caruso Fujitsu Racing Holden + 20.153
7. Rick Kelly Jack Daniel’s Racing Holden + 21.049
8. Steven Johnson Jim Beam Racing Ford + 21.734
9. Steven Richards Ford Performance Racing Ford + 26.703
10. Tony D’Alberto Centaur Racing Holden + 27.950
11. Jason Bright Trading Post Racing Holden + 30.286
12. Jonathon Webb Dick Johnson Racing Ford + 37.076
13. Jason Richards Team BOC Holden + 39.878
14. Todd Kelly Jack Daniel’s Racing Holden + 44.116
15. Dean Fiore Triple-F Racing Ford + 44.364
16. Will Davison TOLL HRT Holden + 53.135
17. Tim Slade Wilson Security Racing Holden + 57.869
18. Daniel Gaunt Gulf Western Oil Racing Holden + 1:00.190
19. Paul Dumbrell Bottle-O Racing Holden + 1:02.828
20. Fabian Coulthard Bundaberg Red Racing Holden + 1:03.813
21. Alex Davison IRWIN Racing Ford + 1:03.902
22. Tony Ricciardello Stratco Racing Holden + 1:11.699
23. Lee Holdsworth Fujitsu Racing Holden + 10 laps
  Not Classified    
  Karl Reindler Fair Dinkum Sheds Holden 53 laps
  Andrew Thompson Bundaberg Red Racing Holden 41 laps
  Jamie Whincup Team Vodafone Holden 27 laps
  Jason Bargwanna ROCK Racing Holden 20 laps
  Greg Murphy Castrol Edge Racing Holden 4 laps
  Mark Winterbottom Ford Performance Racing Ford 0 laps
The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.