Marrakech Tarquini SEAT has continued its dominance of the Marrakech round with Gabriele Tarquini again heading the timesheets in the second free practice session.

It looked like Nortbert Michelisz might repeat his feat in yesterday’s open test session on the Moroccan street circuit, but Tarquini pulled a late flyer out of the bag to claim the top spot on the timesheets. His time of 1:46.143 was the best yet of the weekend, and some 0.8s faster than Michelisz’s quickest time.

Yvan Muller improved his overall pace, vaulting to third-quickest overall ahead of the BMW of Andy Priaulx. Just 0.2s covered third to tenth on the timesheets, with this close gaggle also made up of Tom Coronel, Jordi Gené, Augusto Farfus, Robert Huff, Michel Nykjær and Alain Menu.

Mehdi Bennani gave the local crowd a reason to smile after his repaired BMW lapped the circuit twelfth-quickest overall.

2010 WTCC Round 2 Marrakech 2nd Practice Session Times:

  Driver   Team Time Laps
1. Gabriele Tarquini SR Sport SEAT León TDI 1:46.143 12
2. Norbert Michelisz Zengö-Dension SEAT León TDI + 0.844 11
3. Yvan Muller RML Chevrolet Cruze LT + 1.364 10
4. Andy Priaulx RBM Team BMW 320si + 1.390 14
5. Tom Coronel SR Sport SEAT León TDI + 1.499 14
6. Jordi Gené SR Sport SEAT León TDI + 1.507 7
7. Augusto Farfus RBM Team BMW 320si + 1.530 12
8. Robert Huff RML Chevrolet Cruze LT + 1.532 10
9. Michel Nykjær SUNRED SEAT León TDI + 1.592 11
10. Alain Menu RML Chevrolet Cruze LT + 1.620 10
11. Tiago Monteiro SR Sport SEAT León TDI + 1.961 10
12. Mehdi Bennani (I) Wiechers Sport BMW 320si + 2.382 16
13. Fredy Barth SUNRED SEAT León TDI + 2.421 13
14. Franz Engstler (I) Team Engstler BMW 320si + 2.460 9
15. Stefano D’Aste (I) Scuderia Proteam BMW 320si + 2.557 15
16. Darryl O’Young (I) Bamboo Chevrolet Lacetti + 3.656 11
17. Harry Vaulkhard (I) Bamboo Chevrolet Lacetti + 3.832 13
18. Sergio Hernández (I) Scuderia Proteam BMW 320si + 4.000 13
19. Andrei Romanov (I) Team Engstler BMW 320si + 5.014 10
20. Ismaïl Sbaï (I) Morocco Chevrolet Lacetti + 6.984 13
NP. Youssaf El Marnissi (I) Morocco Chevrolet Lacetti    
NP. Larbi Tadlaoui (I) Morocco Chevrolet Lacetti    

[Images via the FIA WTCC official website]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.

Latest posts by Richard Bailey (see all)