Sebastian Vettel went quickest again Red Bull Racing looks set to clean up at this weekend’s Spanish Grand Prix, after Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber staged another 1-2 in the third and final practice session before this afternoon’s qualifying.

Vettel headed the timesheets by a considerable margin of over 0.7s to his team-mate, with the McLarens of Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button winding up third- and fourth-quickest overall.

Should conditions remain dry for both qualifying and the race – which seems unlikely given the weather forecasts – then a whitewash for the Milton Keynes team seems inevitable.

Despite overnight rain, weather conditions seem to have improved from yesterday, with bright sunshine and 18ºC (64°F) temperatures ensuring the local fans were kept comfortable as they watched their three native representatives out on track.

The session was largely incident-free, save for an unexpected red flag 20 minutes into the one-hour period, when both Kamui Kobayashi and Vitaly Petrov shot into the Turn 4 gravel trap after each ran over the still-damp kerbing. While Kobayashi was able to limp his Sauber out of the kitty litter with limited damage, it was more terminal for Petrov’s Renault, which suffered considerable front- and rear-end damage after he clobbered the tyre barriers en route to the scene of his accident.

The green flags came out with half an hour’s running still to go, and everyone ran reliably until Adrian Sutil’s Force India slowed and pulled off at the exit of the Campsa corner.

For the rest of the runners, Michael Schumacher’s promising weekend continued with a solid run to fifth overall of the timesheets, and again ahead of team-mate Nico Rosberg for the third session running.

The Ferraris of Felipe Massa and Fernando Alonso sandwiched the seventh-placed Rosberg on the timesheets.

2010 Spanish GP Practice 3 Session Times:

  Driver   Team Time Laps
1. Sebastian Vettel DEU Red Bull Renault 1:20.528 15
2. Mark Webber AU Red Bull Renault + 0.704 11
3. Lewis Hamilton GBR McLaren Mercedes + 0.820 14
4. Jenson Button GBR McLaren Mercedes + 0.848 16
5. Michael Schumacher DEU Mercedes GP + 1.055 14
6. Felipe Massa BRA Ferrari + 1.221 16
7. Nico Rosberg DEU Mercedes GP + 1.485 14
8. Fernando Alonso ESP Ferrari + 1.63 15
9. Robert Kubica POL Renault + 1.714 20
10. Adrian Sutil DEU Force India Mercedes + 1.849 12
11. Sébastien Buemi SUI Toro Rosso Ferrari + 1.872 18
12. Kamui Kobayashi JPN Sauber Ferrari + 1.884 11
13. Pedro de la Rosa ESP Sauber Ferrari + 1.999 20
14. Nico Hülkenberg DEU Williams Cosworth + 2.106 16
15. Jaime Alguersuari ESP Toro Rosso Ferrari + 2.398 20
16. Rubens Barrichello BRA Williams Cosworth + 2.425 16
17. Vitantonio Liuzzi ITA Force India Mercedes + 3.069 12
18. Vitaly Petrov RUS Renault + 3.368 5
19. Jarno Trulli ITA Lotus Cosworth + 4.082 14
20. Heikki Kovalainen Lotus Cosworth + 4.217 11
21. Timo Glock DEU Virgin Racing Cosworth + 5.194 15
22. Lucas di Grassi BRA Virgin Racing Cosworth + 5.327 14
23. Karun Chandhok IND HRT Cosworth + 6.083 18
24. Bruno Senna BRA HRT Cosworth + 9.718 6

[Original image via GP Update]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.