Yvan Muller took a last-lap victory at the second race of the Monza round of the Muller took a surprise win at Monza World Touring Car Championship, when a puncture again took out the SEAT front-runner on the last lap of the race.

Michel Nykjær’s 8th-placed finish in the first race of the weekend saw the Dane start from the reverse-grid pole position for the second 9-lap race, and he looked set to cruise to a comfortable victory, especially when defending World Champion Gabriele Tarquini capped off a nightmare weekend by jumping the start.

The former F1 driver – whose slip-up in qualifying cost him pole position for the opening race, and the win in it being denied by a final-lap puncture – was seen creeping on the grid before the lights went out, and he was forced to serve a drive-through penalty. He would retire at the end of the following lap.

Nykjær, who had also been stricken with a first-race puncture led comfortably on the final lap but slowed as he went through the Curva Grande, pulling off the track at the second chicane with yet another deflated Yokohama tyre.

This gifted Yvan Muller’s Chevrolet a last-lap lead, ahead of Tom Coronel and Robert Huff, who would complete the podium. The BMWs of Augusto Farfus and Andy Priaulx completed the top-five standings.

An enjoyable battle between the recovering SEAT of Jordi Gené, Tiago Monteiro and Norbert Michelisz rounded out positions six to eight, with the Chevrolets of Alain Menu and Leonel Pernía completing the remaining points-paying positions.

Stefano D’Aste salvaged some pride for his homeland by winning the Independents’ Trophy race, with Darryl O’Young and Harry Vaulkhard completing the rostrum.

Race 6 Final Classification (9 laps):

  Driver   Team Result
1. Yvan Muller RML Chevrolet Cruze LT 18:29.805
2. Tom Coronel SR Sport SEAT León TDI + 0.512
3. Robert Huff RML Chevrolet Cruze LT + 0.822
4. Augusto Farfus RBM Team BMW 320si + 1.001
5. Andy Priaulx RBM Team BMW 320si + 1.742
6. Jordi Gené SR Sport SEAT León TDI + 3.495
7. Tiago Monteiro SR Sport SEAT León TDI + 4.197
8. Norbert Michelisz Zengö-Dension SEAT León TDI + 4.580
9. Alain Menu RML Chevrolet Cruze LT + 5.099
10. Leonel Pernía RML Chevrolet Cruze LT + 9.918
11. Stefan D’Aste (I) Scuderia Proteam BMW 320si + 11.856
12. Darryl O’Young (I) Bamboo Chevrolet Lacetti + 13.499
13. Harry Vaulkhard (I) Bamboo Chevrolet Lacetti + 14.368
14. Fredy Barth SUNRED SEAT León TDI + 14.506
15. Kristian Poulsen (I) Poulsen Motorsport BMW 320si + 14.836
16. Sergio Hernández (I) Scuderia Proteam BMW 320si + 15.266
17. Mehdi Bennani (I) Wiechers Sport BMW 320si + 33.557
18. Fabio Fabiani Scuderia Proteam BMW 320si + 49.454
  Not Classified      
  Michel Nykjær SUNRED SEAT León TDI 8 laps
  Gabriele Tarquini SR Sport SEAT León TDI 6 laps
  Andrey Romanov (I) Team Engstler BMW 320si 2 laps
DNS Franz Engstler (I) Team Engstler BMW 320si  

[Original images via FIA WTCC official website]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.