(Our passionate IndyCar correspondent Matt Lennon partakes in some more crystal-ball gazing for this weekend’s short-oval race, the Iowa Corn Indy 250. Enjoy!)

The short history of the Iowa Indycar race, only three prior runnings, have produced only two winners, Dan Wheldon and Dario Franchitti, both of whom return for another attempt at the short 0.875 mile oval this weekend.

The warm, inviting Iowa people lay down the red carpet to welcome the Indycar Series each year and the series returns by providing a fantastic show for all who see it.

Franchitti won the 2009 Iowa Corn 250 from Briscoe In the 2009 event, qualifying was cancelled due to rain, so the grid was set based on the points standings at the time, giving Helio Castroneves pole position. Unfortunately for Helio, he dropped back through the field, eventually finishing a lap down in seventh place. Through faultless pit stops, Dario Franchitti took the win, five seconds ahead of Ryan Briscoe.

Briscoe, coming off his win at Texas two weeks ago, will be looking to continue this form reversal and to move further toward the top of the championship standings. Oval-race qualifying has been a bit of a speciality for Briscoe, who is regularly among the fastest, if not the fastest, at the end of the Saturday sessions.

In such a competitive series, it is always tough to predict a winner. For this reason, I am predicting a first-time-in-2010 winner for the Iowa race this weekend. Plenty of drivers are capable, so we will see what happens. The race will be broadcast through ESPN in Australia, screening at 3:30am Australian Eastern Standard Time on Monday morning.

Enjoy the Iowa 250!

[Original image via AUTOSPORT]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.