BMW’s August Farfus set the fastest lap time in the free test session held in the lead-up to the return of the Zolder circuit to the World Touring Car Championship, which is playing home to the fourth round of the 2010 championship season.

With Farfus’ team-mate Andy Priaulx helping to sandwich the current championship leader Yvan Muller’s Chevrolet into second place, it can be consdered a productive day for the BMW team.

Farfus Zolder The greatest surprise was the fourth-placed result for Independent Trophy driver Daryl O’Young, who achieved a time just over 0.4s slower than Farus in the (comparitively) elderly Chevrolet Lacetti.

SEAT’s Tom Coronel finished atop the timesheets for the Spanish marque, with the Dutchman finishing ahead of the other Chevrolet Cruzes of Robert Huff and Alain Menu.

Just behind the other SEATs of Jordi Gené and Gabriele Tarquini came hometown hero Vincent Radermecker, who rounded out the top-ten in the session

2010 WTCC Round 4 Zolder Test Session Times:

  Driver   Team Time
1. Augusto Farfus RBM Team BMW 320si 1:40.096
2. Yvan Muller FRA RML Chevrolet Cruze LT + 0.163
3. Andy Priaulx RBM Team BMW 320si + 0.215
4. Darryl O’Young (I) CHN Bamboo Chevrolet Lacetti + 0.411
5. Tom Coronel NED SR Sport SEAT León TDI + 0.551
6. Robert Huff RML Chevrolet Cruze LT + 0.787
7. Alain Menu RML Chevrolet Cruze LT + 0.865
8. Jordi Gené SR Sport SEAT León TDI + 1.027
9. Gabriele Tarquini SR Sport SEAT León TDI + 1.027
10. Vincent Radermecker BEL_thumb1[1] RML Chevrolet Cruze LT + 1.148
11. Tiago Monteiro POR SR Sport SEAT León TDI + 1.172
12. Kristian Poulsen (I) DEN Poulsen Motorsport BMW 320si + 1.449
13. Stefano D’Aste (I) Scuderia Proteam BMW 320si + 1.646
14. Franz Engstler (I) Team Engstler BMW 320si + 1.746
15. Mehdi Bennani (I) MOR Wiechers Sport BMW 320si + 1.841
16. Fredy Barth SUNRED SEAT + 1.950
17. Norbert Michelisz HUN Zengö-Dension SEAT León TDI + 2.082
18. Michel Nykjær DEN SUNRED SEAT León TDI + 2.198
19. Sergio Hernández (I) Scuderia Proteam BMW 320si + 2.605
20. Harry Vaulkhard (I) Bamboo Chevrolet Lacetti + 2.809
21. Pierre-Yves Corthals (I) BEL_thumb1[1] Exagon SEAT León TFSI + 3.183
22. Andrei Romanov (I) Team Engstler BMW 320si + 5.043

[Original image via FIA WTCC official website]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.