The annual Goodwood Festival of Speed proved an incredible hit once again, with a host of current and former F1 figures competing as the star attractions in a massive field of racing cars from across the racing spectrum.

The annual event, which this year celebrated the 60th anniversary of the FIA Formula One World Championship, took place in the grounds of Sussex’s Goodwood House.

McLaren team mates – and 2008 and 2009 world champions respectively – Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button were among many who headed the bill. Both drove behind the wheel of Alain Prost’s 1987 McLaren TAG MP4-2C as well as an Mercedes-powered MP4-23 of 2008.

Representing Red Bull were the likes of Mark Webber, their test driver Daniel Ricciardo and team designer Adrian Newey, who was presented with one of his RB5 chassis’.

Also in attendance were the likes of Nico Rosberg, Nick Heidfeld, Nico Hülkenberg, Marc Gené, Bruno Senna, Karun Chandhok, Jarno Trulli and Heikki Kovalainen.

Representing some of the F1 figures from the past included champions Mika Hakkinen, Sir Jackie Stewart, Emerson Fittipaldi and John Surtees. Former F1 drivers Sir Stirling Moss, Jochen Mass, Patrick Tambay, Jackie Oliver, Vic Elford, Arturo Merzario, Richard Attwood, and Derek Bell were also at the event.

A selection of the best pictures (sourced via AUTOSPORT and can be viewed below – click to enlarge…

Lewis Hamilton McLaren Jackie Stewart Lotus Mika Hakkinen Mercedes
Lewis Hamilton samples Alain Prost’s 1987 McLaren TAG MP4-2C. Sir Jackie Stewart behind the wheel of Jim Clark’s 1965 Indy 500-winning Lotus 38. Two-time champion Mika Hakkinen behind the wheel of a much older ‘Silver Arrows’!
Emerson Fittipaldi McLaren Heikki Kovalainen Lotus Marc Gene Ferrari
Emerson Fittipaldi at the wheel of a McLaren M23. Heikki Kovalainen drives Emerson Fittipaldi’s Lotus 72. Ferrari test driver Marc Gené at the wheel of the F2009.
John Surtees Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP Bruno Senna McLaren
John Surtees samples his championship-winning Ferrari. Nico Rosberg drives a Mercedes GP liveried Brawn GP BGP001. Bruno Senna gets to drive his late uncle’s 1993 McLaren MP4/8.
Jarno Trulli Lotus Karun Chandhok Williams Mark Webber Red Bull
Jarno Trulli demonstrates Mario Andretti’s championship-winning Lotus 79. Karun Chandhok drives the 1982 championship-winning Williams Cosworth. Mark Webber shows he’s recovered from his Valencia shunt behind the wheel of a 2009 Red Bull RB5.
The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.