Lewis Hamilton is set to become the latest recipient of the Lorenzo Bandini Trophy, Lorenzo Bandiniawarded to F1 drivers for their achievements in F1 during the previous season.

What, no look-in for the actual championship-winner, Jenson Button?

The award is a yearly tribute to the late Lorenzo Bandini (pictured right), a leading Italian F1 driver who died at the wheel of a Ferrari in the 1967 Monaco Grand Prix.

Last year’s recipient, Sebastian Vettel, followed the tradition set by the previous winner Robert Kubica in driving to the town of Brisighella to collect the award in the F1 car he Sebastian Vettel Bandini Trophypiloted – in his case, the 2008 Toro Rosso he steered to victory at the Italian Grand Prix (pictured left).

It is not known if Hamilton will follow this example, and it is believed that he will opt for the more leisurely Mercedes road car option.

All the easier to perform more illegal burn-outs, we say, eh Lewis?!

“The list [of previous recipients] reads like a who’s who of formula one talent, and I’m very honoured to be joining that group,” a thrilled Hamilton said.

Past winners include Felipe Massa, Mark Webber, Fernando Alonso, Kimi Raikkonen, Michael Schumacher, Juan Pablo Montoya, Jenson Button, Jarno Trulli and Jacques Villeneuve.

[Original images via Formula1.com and The Cahier Archive]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.