Mark Webber continued Red Bull’s impressive run of pace at the revamped Silverstone circuit by topping the second practice session times for the British Grand Prix.

Mark Webber Both Red Bulls have stamped their position as the team to beat this weekend, and comfortably stretched their legs when running the softer compound Bridgestone tyres.

The Australian’s best time of 1:31.234 proved unbeatable at the end of the 90-minute session – run in glorious weather and in front of near-packed grandstands – despite him losing the last fifteen minutes of the session with an electrical problem.

By contrast, team-mate Sebastian Vettel endured a high-speed spin at Stowe, but could not match Webber’s pace this session.

Ferrari’s pace improved considerably into the second session, with both Fernando Alonso and Felipe Massa posting competitive lap times in their ‘F-duct’ equipped F60 cars, although the latter had two separate off-track moments during the session.

The only other runners within 1.5 seconds of Webber’s benchmark were both Mercedes GP cars, with Nico Rosberg shading team-mate Michael Schumacher by almost half a second.

Vitaly Petrov would have been happy to make the top-ten at the end of the practice session, and equally delighted to out-pace not one, but both, McLarens, with Lewis Hamilton down in eighth place and Jenson Button a lowly 13th overall.

Lotus’ run of poor reliability on their second ‘home’ track seemed set to continue, with Jarno Trulli coasting to a halt with a gearbox problem and Heikki Kovalainen stopping with a power steering failure at Stowe.

Hispania Racing might be regretting its justification of putting Sakon Yamamoto in the second seat in place of regular driver Bruno Senna, with the race-rusty Japanese driver seeming to struggle physically with the demands of backing up for a second session. He finished well down on team-mate Karun Chandhok’s pace at the end of the session.


2010 British GP Practice 2 Session Times:

  Driver   Team Time Laps
1. Mark Webber AU Red Bull Renault 1:31.234 15
2. Fernando Alonso ESP Ferrari + 0.392 26
3. Sebastian Vettel DEU Red Bull Renault + 0.641 24
4. Felipe Massa BRA Ferrari + 0.865 25
5. Nico Rosberg DEU Mercedes GP + 0.932 29
6. Michael Schumacher DEU Mercedes GP + 1.426 27
7. Vitaly Petrov RUS Renault + 1.511 28
8. Lewis Hamilton GBR McLaren Mercedes + 1.523 22
9. Adrian Sutil DEU Force India Mercedes + 1.553 27
10. Rubens Barrichello BRA Williams Cosworth + 1.733 32
11. Robert Kubica POL Renault + 1.785 30
12. Nico Hülkenberg DEU Williams Cosworth + 1.930 28
13. Jenson Button GBR McLaren Mercedes + 1.966 24
14. Kamui Kobayashi JPN Sauber Ferrari + 2.168 23
15. Vitantonio Liuzzi ITA_thumb[2] Force India Mercedes + 2.494 27
16. Sébastien Buemi SUI Toro Rosso Ferrari + 2.602 36
17. Pedro de la Rosa ESP Sauber Ferrari + 2.817 29
18. Jaime Alguersuari ESP Toro Rosso Ferrari + 3.409 36
19. Heikki Kovalainen Lotus Cosworth + 4.231 25
20. Lucas di Grassi BRA Virgin Racing Cosworth + 5.003 24
21. Timo Glock DEU Virgin Racing Cosworth + 5.319 21
22. Karun Chandhok IND_thumb[3] HRT Cosworth + 5.785 27
23. Sakon Yamamoto JPN HRT Cosworth + 7.069 32
24. Jarno Trulli ITA_thumb[2] Lotus Cosworth + 11.667 3

[Original image via AUTOSPORT]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.