Mark Winterbottom clinched his fourteenth V8 Supercars career win and his second of the 2010 season, taking advantage of good strategy and a small slice of luck en route Winterbottom won the second race at Townsvilleto victory in the second race of the Sucrogen Townsville 400.

The man nicknamed ‘Frosty’ was running fifth in the opening phase of the street circuit race, but elected to pit earlier than those he was pursuing, and used the clear track to good effect to be in the lead when his rivals completed their first pit stops.

He then went on to eke out a 10-second lead, only to have this nullified when a late Safety Car interruption condensed the pack. However, he managed to survive to win, after holding off the advances of James Courtney.

For Courtney, however, the day did not get off to an auspicious start, with the Race Stewards belatedly deciding to investigate his early-race collision with Jim Beam Racing team-mate Steven Johnson.

That the Stewards decided to look into the matter and rule it as a racing incident – much to the chagrin of the Holden teams, unsurprisingly – is understandable, and one should move on from that point. However, what needs explanation is why the Stewards took so long before deciding to look into it in the first place!

Nevertheless, Courtney’s second-placed finish was well-earned, and he extended his championship lead over Team Vodafone rival Jamie Whincup to 120 points, after polesitter Whincup was forced to pit after just eight laps with a broken brake line – he would eventually finish 23rd to cap off a disastrous event for the team, with team-mate Craig Lowndes retiring after rear-ending, ironically, Courtney, as the two braked to avoid Garth Tander, who had gently understeered into the tyre barriers at Turn 3.

Under a flurry of yellow flags, Tander reversed out of the tyres just as Courtney and Lowndes arrived on the scene; Courtney slowed suddenly as he came across Tander straddling the racing line, but it was too late for Lowndes, who clouted the back of the Ford and destroyed his radiator.

Tander took an impressive third in a car now a foot shorter courtesy of its brush with the tyres, finishing ahead of a very pleased Paul Dumbrell, who started from 14th place.

Fifth place should have gone Jason Bright’s way, but his luck seemed to desert him once again this weekend, and he slowed with an engine problem with just three laps to run, dropping to 18th.

Bright’s retirement was a blessing for Ford Performance Racing, which meant that Steven Richards was promoted to fifth, given the team a 1-4-5 result for the cars it runs; Richards managed to resist the overtures of Will Davison by a fraction as the chequered flag fell, as they headed a train of cars that also included Shane van Gisbergen, Jason Richards and Jonathon Webb.

The next round, nine weeks away, is the L&H Philip Island 500.

Click here for the Championship Standings.

Race 2 Final Classification:

  Driver   Team Result
1. Mark Winterbottom Ford Ford Performance Racing 1:36:49.358
2. James Courtney Ford Jim Beam Racing + 1.235
3. Garth Tander Holden TOLL Holden Racing Team + 4.476
4. Paul Dumbrell Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team + 9.678
5. Steven Richards Ford Ford Performance Racing + 13.172
6. Will Davison Holden TOLL Holden Racing Team + 13.285
7. Shane van Gisbergen Ford SP Tools Racing + 13.937
8. Jason Richards Holden Team BOC + 14.418
9. Jonathon Webb Ford Dick Johnson Racing + 15.490
10. Jason Bargwanna Holden ROCK Racing + 23.702
11. Michael Caruso Holden Fujitsu Racing / GRM + 24.060
12. Tim Slade Ford Wilson Security Racing + 24.607
13. Rick Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s Racing + 28.973
14. Alex Davison Ford IRWIN Racing + 30.373
15. Lee Holdsworth Holden Fujitsu Racing / GRM + 30.851
16. Cameron McConville Holden Gulf Western Oil Racing + 46.483
17. Greg Murphy Holden Castrol Edge Racing + 52.296
18. Jason Bright Holden Trading Post Racing + 58.797
19. Todd Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s Racing + 1:06.804
20. Tony Ricciardello Holden Stratco Racing + 1 lap
21. Dean Fiore Ford Triple F Racing + 3 laps
22. Steven Johnson Ford Jim Beam Racing + 6 laps
23. Jamie Whincup Holden Team Vodafone + 13 laps
  Not Classified      
  Fabian Coulthard Holden Bundaberg Red Racing 70 laps
  Craig Lowndes Holden Team Vodafone 41 laps
  Andrew Thompson Holden Bundaberg Red Racing 25 laps
  Tony D’Alberto Holden Centaur Racing 1 lap
  Russell Ingall Holden Supercheap Auto Racing 1 lap
  Karl Reindler Holden Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing 1 lap

[Original image via Life]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.