The Chevrolet team has cast an ominous warning for this weekend’s World Touring Car Championship event at Brands Hatch, by locking out the top three positions in qualifying ahead of Sunday’s opening race.

Championship leader Yvan Muller headed the trio that also comprised team-mates Chevrolet 1-2-3 in Brands HatchRobert Huff and Alain Menu, despite a wild off-track moment at Paddock Hill Bend on his first attempt at a flying lap.

But perhaps the biggest surprise went to Colin Turkington, who upstaged both factory BMWs and all of the SEAT runners to qualifying fourth-quickest – the highest position an Independent Trophy driver has started from this season.

Sharing row three will be current and former champions Gabriele Tarquini and Andy Priaulx, who are followed by the SEAT Leóns of Tom Coronel and Tiago Monteiro.

However, Priaulx’s starting position will be ten places further back, with the Guernseyman being demoted due to an engine change.

Coronel could perhaps count himself lucky to make it into the second stage of qualifying, which is usually reserved for the top-ten drivers in the opening phase of qualifying. However, the expanded grid for this weekend’s event saw organisers increase the Q2 field by an extra car, meaning that 11th-placed Coronel was given a lucky reprieve.

Further down the order, Kristian Poulsen’s qualifying times were later stripped after he was found guilty of a parc fermé infringement at the end of the Q1 session, in which he was 15th-quickest.

FIA 2010 WTCC Round 6 Brands Hatch Qualifying Results:

  Driver Car Q1 Time Q2 Time
1. Yvan Muller FRA Chevrolet Cruze LT 1:32.658 1:32.481
2. Robert Huff Chevrolet Cruze LT 1:32.922 1:32.678
3. Alain Menu Sui Chevrolet Cruze LT 1:33.128 1:32.828
4. Colin Turkington (I) BMW 320si 1:33.306 1:32.842
5. Gabriele Tarquini SEAT León TDI 1:33.157 1:32.873
6. Andy Priaulx BMW 320si 1:33.239 1:32.973
7. Tom Coronel NED SEAT León TDI 1:33.549 1:33.176
8. Tiago Monteiro SEAT León TDI 1:33.272 1:33.257
9. Norbert Michelisz HUN SEAT León TDI 1:33.441 1:33.261
10. Augusto Farfus BMW 320si 1:33.448 1:33.337
11. Franz Engstler (I) BMW 320si 1:33.454 1:35.164
12. Robert Dahlgren NOR_thumb[1] Volvo C30 1:33.579  
13. Jordi Gené SEAT León TDI 1:33.588  
14. Fredy Barth Sui SEAT León TDI 1:33.803  
15. Kristian Poulsen DEN BMW 320si 1:33.803  
16. Darryl O’Young (I) Chevrolet Lacetti 1:33.911  
17. Carlos ‘Cacá’ Bueno Chevrolet Cruze LT 1:34.122  
18. Tom Boardman SEAT León TFSI 1:34.409  
19. Michel Nykjær DEN SEAT León TDI 1:34.419  
20. Stefano D’Aste (I) BMW 320si 1:34.437  
21. Sergio Hernández (I) BMW 320si 1:34.594  
22. Mehdi Bennani (I) BMW 320si 1:34.722  
23. Harry Vaulkhard (I) Chevrolet Lacetti 1:34.736  
24. Tim Coronel NED BMW 320si no time  

[Original images via FIA WTCC official website]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.