Andy Priaulx took his fourth World Touring Car Championship victory of the 2010 season with a win in Sunday’s second race at Brands Hatch.

The man from the isle of Guernsey had a straightforward run to the chequered flag Priaulx held Turkington at bayafter retaking the lead from his BMW team-mate on the third lap, but a worse fate was to befall Farfus, who would be taking out of the running by a collision with Alain Menu.

Relations between the Brazilian and the Swiss driver will no doubt be at an all-time low after their second collision of the season – their first being the almighty shunt at Marrakech.

The Brazilian made a brilliant getaway from third on the grid to vault to first by Paddock Hill Bend, but Priaulx redressed the order by passing him at Druids. Menu tried to follow Menu tipped Farfus into a spin Priaulx through, but Farfus closed the door, resulting in the Chevrolet clipping the BMW and pitching him into a spin. Farfus would rejoin the race, but it was game over for Menu, who limped to the pits and retired with a damaged steering arm. It ended a wretched weekend for the bespectacled driver, who would later be penalised and stripped of his points earned in the opening race, where he finished seventh.

The man who would no doubt be delighted to have benefited from their misfortune was none other than Colin Turkington, who took back-to-back podium finishes in what was the performance of the weekend. The Independent Trophy driver shadowed Priaulx for the remainder of the race, finishing under 0.4 seconds behind the race-winner.

Gabriele Tarquini took the final spot on the podium ahead of team-mate Tom Coronel, but the SEATs never had to pace to challenge the rear-wheel-drive BMWs, with the Brands hatch track not suited to the front-wheel-drive hatchbacks.

The Chevrolet pairing of Yvan Muller and Robert Huff finished fifth and sixth, consolidating their points haul in the opening race – Huff adhered to team orders and allowed championship leader Muller to ease by on the run to Hawthorn Bend.

Norbert Michelisz took seventh place, ahead of the recovering Farfus, who passed Michel Nykjær for eighth with two laps to run. Jordi Gené finally broke his run of point-less races by claiming the final points’-paying position in 10th.

Race 12 Final Classification (16 laps):

  Driver   Team Result
1. Andy Priaulx RBM Team BMW 320si 27:05.324
2. Colin Turkington (I) eBay Motors BMW 320si + 0.399
3. Gabriele Tarquini SR Sport SEAT León TDI + 1.394
4. Tom Coronel SR Sport SEAT León TDI + 1.854
5. Yvan Muller RML Chevrolet Cruze LT + 3.037
6. Robert Huff RML Chevrolet Cruze LT + 3.418
7. Norbert Michelisz Zengö-Dension SEAT León + 4.901
8. Augusto Farfus RBM Team BMW 320si + 5.529
9. Michel Nykjær SUNRED SEAT León TDI + 6.035
10. Jordi Gené SR Sport SEAT León TDI + 6.481
11. Stefan D’Aste (I) Scuderia Proteam BMW 320si + 7.293
12. Sergio Hernández (I) Scuderia Proteam BMW 320si + 7.604
13. Franz Engstler (I) Team Engstler BMW 320si + 9.561
14. Harry Vaulkhard (I) Bamboo Chevrolet Lacetti + 11.172
15. Tim Coronel (I) Team Engstler BMW 320si + 13.151
  Not Classified      
  Alain Menu RML Chevrolet Cruze LT 11 laps
  Tom Boardman (I) SUNRED SEAT León TFSI 10 laps
  Darryl O’Young (I) Bamboo Chevrolet Lacetti 10 laps
  Mehdi Bennani (I) Wiechers Sport BMW 320si 10 laps
  Tiago Monteiro SR Sport SEAT León TDI 1 lap
  Fredy Barth SUNRED SEAT León TDI 0 laps
  Kristian Poulsen (I) Poulsen Motorsport BMW 320si 0 laps
  Robert Dahlgren Olsbergs Green Racing Volvo C30 0 laps
DNS Carlos ‘Cacá’ Bueno RML Chevrolet Cruze LT  

* Denotes 30-second time penalty applied post-race by the stewards for impeding rival drivers on the final race lap.

[Original images via FIA WTCC official site]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.