Huff stormed to pole at Brno Chevrolet driver Robert Huff claimed his first pole position of the 2010 World Touring car Championship season at this weekend’s round at Brno in the Czech Republic.

The Briton posted a time three-tenths of a second faster than his nearest rival in the second a final stage of qualifying, made even more impressive by the fact that he had only a single lap in which to post an attempt.

Huff will be desperately hoping to convert his front-row start into his first race victory of the season, made all the more easy by his championship-leading team-mate Yvan Muller having to start well down the order in eighth place.

Muller’s chief championship rival, Gabriele Tarquini, posted a very impressive Q2 time to make it a front row start alongside Huff, which is also an impressive result for SEAT, which was not expected to perform strongly at the Brno circuit.

Tarquini just managed to edge out Independent Trophy driver Colin Turkington, who emerged as the lead Trophy driver and the fastest BMW driver. That he posted such a competitive time will again raise questions as to whether it is his talent or the car – his BMW runs some 100kg lighter in performance ballast than many of the manufacturer outfits – that is doing the job.

Turkington starts alongside August Farfus, who will be hoping to reinvigorate his championship challenge and amend the ghosts from last year’s round at the Czech Republic, where he succeeded in wiping out some six cars on the run into the first corner!

The shock eliminations in Q1 were Andy Priaulx and Tiago Monteiro, who were unable to improve on their initial banker laps after Fabio Fabiani’s spinning BMW caused the session to be red-flagged midway.

FIA 2010 WTCC Brno Qualifying Results:

  Driver Car Q1 Time Q2 Time
1. Robert Huff Chevrolet Cruze LT 2:10.611 2:10.860
2. Gabriele Tarquini SEAT León TDI 2:10.666 2:11.198
3. Colin Turkington BMW 320si 2:11.179 2:11.205
4. Augusto Farfus BMW 320si 2:11.111 2:11.260
5. Alain Menu Sui Chevrolet Cruze LT 2:10.678 2:11.360
6. Norbert Michelisz HUN SEAT León TDI 2:11.601 2:11.436
7. Tom Coronel NED SEAT León TDI 2:11.498 2:11.528
8. Yvan Muller FRA Chevrolet Cruze LT 2:10.885 2:11.542
9. Jordi Gené SEAT León TDI 2:11.009 2:11.745
10. Michel Nykjær DEN SEAT León TDI 2:11.750 2:11.826
11. Andy Priaulx BMW 320si 2:11.761  
12. Kristian Poulsen DEN BMW 320si 2:11.798  
13. Sergio Hernández (I) BMW 320si 2:11.833  
14. Tiago Monteiro SEAT León TDI 2:11.994  
15. Darryl O’Young (I) Chevrolet Lacetti 2:12.093  
16. Fredy Barth Sui SEAT León TDI 2:12.180  
17. Mehdi Bennani (I) BMW 320si 2:12.496  
18. Stefano D’Aste (I) BMW 320si 2:12.617  
19. Franz Engstler (I) BMW 320si 2:12.658  
20. Harry Vaulkhard (I) Chevrolet Lacetti 2:13.007  
21. Andrey Romanov (I)   BMW 320si 2:13.989  
22. Fabio Fabiani (I)   BMW 320si 2:19.110  

[Original image via official FIA WTCC website]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.