The FIA WTCC race stewards have investigated three racing incidents stemming from the two races in Brno, and awarded penalties to Bamboo Engineering driver Darryl O’Young, Wiechers Sport’s Mehdi Bennani and SEAT’s Norbert Michelisz.

Darryl O'Young was stripped of his Independents' Trophy win in Race 1 O’Young was found guilty of nerfing Tiago Monteiro into a spin during the first race, and awarded a 30-second time penalty that dropped him from 8th to 17th, handing the Independents’ Trophy win to Kristian Poulsen.

The same penalty was dished out to Bennani, with the Moroccan driver adjudged the guilty party in a collision with Poulsen in the second race.

O’Young and Bennani – neither of whom are strangers are in-race collisions this year – have also been given 10-grid penalties that remains suspended for two and one events, respectively.

Michelisz has also been issued with a 10-grid penalty for his collision with Colin Turkington after the restart in Race 2, but the Hungarian will be forced to serve his grid penalty at the next round in Oschersleben.

[Original image via FIA WTCC official site]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.