Andy Priaulx has taken his fifth race victory of the 2010 World Touring Car Championship season, and BMW’s 50th victory in the World Touring Car Championship’s history.

Brno Andy Priaulx Starting from fourth on the grid in the second race at Brno, the Guernseyman made a great getaway to leapfrog the reversed-grid’s front-row starters Darryl O’Young and Michel Nykjær off the line.

Pairulx’s start wasn’t quite as good as Colin Turkington, who vaulted from third on the grid to first by Turn 1, although Priaulx would slip through on lap 2 to take a lead he would never lose.

Turkington defended second place in the opening laps as SEAT’s Gabriele Tarquini and the Chevrolet pairing of Robert Huff and Alain Menu closed up.

On the fourth lap, Tarquini overshot the corner and his running wide dropped him to fourth behind Menu, with the Swiss driver proving less able to pressure Turkington into a mistake. Tarquini would retire with just two laps to run with a suspected injector failure.

His retirement promoted Huff and Augusto Farfus into the battle for fourth place, with the duo enjoying an exciting battle as they passed and repassed one another.

Tiago Monteiro finished in sixth place, ahead of Independents’ Trophy candidate Darryl O’Young, who picked up back-to-back victories in this class at Brno in the venerable Chevrolet Lacetti.

For championship leader Yvan Muller, his poor weekend continued into the second race, from which he emerged with zero points after finishing in twelfth place when he started from the rear of the grid.


WTCC Brno Race 2 Final Classification (10 laps):

  Driver   Team Result
1. Andy Priaulx RBM Team BMW 320si 22:22.054
2. Colin Turkington eBay Motors BMW 320si + 2.254
3. Alain Menu RML Chevrolet Cruze LT + 3.353
4. Robert Huff RML Chevrolet Cruze LT + 5.347
5. Augusto Farfus RBM Team BMW 320si + 5.724
6. Tiago Monteiro SR Sport SEAT León TDI + 7.501
7. Darryl O’Young (I) Bamboo Chevrolet Lacetti + 10.212
8. Fredy Barth SUNRED SEAT León TDI + 11.698
9. Stefan D’Aste (I) Scuderia Proteam BMW 320si + 12.581
10. Tom Coronel SR Sport SEAT León TDI + 16.584
11. Sergio Hernández (I) Scuderia Proteam BMW 320si + 19.233
12. Yvan Muller RML Chevrolet Cruze LT + 20.016
13. Jordi Gené SR Sport SEAT León TDI + 20.555
14. Norbert Michelisz Zengö-Dension SEAT León TDI + 20.837
15. Harry Vaulkhard (I) Bamboo Chevrolet Lacetti + 23.840
16. Mehdi Bennani (I)* Wiechers Sport BMW 320si + 52.069
17. Andrey Romanov (I) RUS_thumb[1] Team Engstler BMW 320si + 52.309
  Not Classified      
DNF Gabriele Tarquini SR Sport SEAT León TDI 8 laps
DNF Kristian Poulsen (I) Poulsen Motorsport BMW 320si 8 laps
DNF Fabio Fabiani Scuderia Proteam BMW 320si 8 laps
DNF Franz Engstler (I) Team Engstler BMW 320si 4 laps
DNF Michel Nykjær SUNRED SEAT León TDI 0 laps

* Denotes 30-second time penalty applied post-race for causing an avoidable collision with Kristian Poulsen

[Original image via FIA WTCC official site]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.