Fernando Alonso cast another ominous warning to the rest of the grid, with a last-ditch hot lap proving enough to deny the pace-setting Adrian Sutil the honour of topping the practice timesheets – as he has previous managed in mixed conditions.

Fernando Alonso was quickest again in the second practice session It was a bizarre 90-minute session for the drivers, with ten of the final fifteen minutes being lost with some spectators trying to climb the safety fences at Turn 8. With the track drying and the officials electing not to suspend the session – it was simply red-flagged with the clock still counting down – the drivers lost precious time with which to set a hot lap.

Once normal running resumed, just three minutes of the session were left for the drivers to post a competitive time, and Alonso used getting to the front of the queue at the end of the pit lane to his full advantage, with the clear track giving him the best opportunity to post the quickest time of the day.

Wet-weather specialist Adrian Sutil wound up second-quickest, and was followed home by Lewis Hamilton, Robert Kubica, Felipe Massa and Sebastian Vettel.

Jenson Button finishes seventh-fastest, ahead of Pedro de la Rosa, Rubens Barrichello and Kamui Kobayashi.

The session started in damp conditions that dried continuously over the next 90 minutes, although a brief shower in the opening minutes would be enough to pitch Timo Glock into the tyre barriers at Turn 9. Vitantonio Liuzzi also went off-track, but creatively managed to reverse out of the Rivage gravel trap and back to the pits for a new front wing.

The timesheets bore a general reflection of the improving conditions, and the order changed by the minute as drivers found the track conditions steadily improving over the course of the session.

Alonso took the gamble of ditching his wet-weather tyres for the shallower-tread intermediate times, and immediately found his pace improving, before Felipe Massa knocked two seconds off Fernando’s best and broke beneath the 2-minute barrier with a 1:58.311.

Twenty minutes later, Jaime Alguersuari took his Toro Rosso to the top of the timesheets by being the first runner to go for the harder compound dry tyres, and then everyone followed suit as the times began to tumble.


2010 Belgian GP Practice 2 Session Times:

  Driver   Team Time Laps
1. Fernando Alonso ESP Ferrari 1:49.032 25
2. Adrian Sutil DEU Force India Mercedes + 0.125 17
3. Lewis Hamilton GBR McLaren Mercedes + 0.216 14
4. Robert Kubica POL Renault + 0.250 20
5. Felipe Massa BRA Ferrari + 0.556 23
6. Sebastian Vettel DEU Red Bull Renault + 0.657 19
7. Jenson Button GBR McLaren Mercedes + 0.723 20
8. Pedro de la Rosa ESP Sauber Ferrari + 1.049 27
9. Rubens Barrichello BRA Williams Cosworth + 1.096 22
10. Kamui Kobayashi JPN Sauber Ferrari + 1.168 24
11. Vitaly Petrov RUS Renault + 1.219 24
12. Michael Schumacher DEU Mercedes GP + 1.309 23
13. Nico Rosberg DEU Mercedes GP + 1.350 21
14. Jaime Alguersuari ESP Toro Rosso Ferrari + 1.650 25
15. Nico Hülkenberg DEU Williams Cosworth + 1.799 20
16. Vitantonio Liuzzi ITA Force India Mercedes + 2.488 17
17. Sébastien Buemi SUI Toro Rosso Ferrari + 2.491 25
18. Mark Webber AUS Red Bull Renault + 2.604 19
19. Heikki Kovalainen FIN Lotus Cosworth + 4.448 15
20. Jarno Trulli ITA Lotus Cosworth + 4.607 21
21. Lucas di Grassi BRA Virgin Racing Cosworth + 5.293 17
22. Bruno Senna BRA HRT Cosworth + 6.719 24
23. Sakon Yamamoto JPN HRT Cosworth + 7.007 21
24. Timo Glock DEU Virgin Racing Cosworth + 14.147 3

[Original image via AUTOSPORT]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.