Defending WTCC champion Gabriele Tarquini just managed to edge out Robert Huff Tarquini lapped quickest in the opening practice session for the honours of the fastest lap in the opening practice session of this weekend’s event at Oschersleben.

The Italian lapped his SEAT around the German circuit just four-hundredths quicker than the Brit, with the duo over a quarter of a second quicker than third-fastest man Jordi Gené.

The Spaniard wound up quicker than Andy Priaulx and Tiago Monteiro, although the trio was split by just half-a-tenth. However, Monteiro perhaps lost the opportunity to move further up the leaderboard when he ploughed into the barriers at Turn 3 with five minutes of the session still remaining.

The top ten was completed by Augusto Farfus, Alain Menu, Michel Nykjær, Tom D'Aste crashed on his first flying lapCoronel and Yvan Muller.

Franz Engstler wound up quickest of the Independent Trophy runners and thirteenth-quickest overall.

The session was interrupted early on by Stefano D’Aste crashing his BMW into the barriers, which brought out the red flags.


2010 WTCC Oschersleben 1st Practice Session Times:

  Driver   Team Time Laps
1. Gabriele Tarquini SR Sport SEAT León TDI 1:36.852 9
2. Robert Huff RML Chevrolet Cruze LT + 0.040 8
3. Jordi Gené SR Sport SEAT León TDI + 0.254 10
4. Andy Priaulx RBM Team BMW 320si + 0.271 10
5. Tiago Monteiro POR SR Sport SEAT León TDI + 0.306 9
6. Augusto Farfus RBM Team BMW 320si + 0.391 12
7. Alain Menu RML Chevrolet Cruze LT + 0.443 10
8. Michel Nykjær DEN SUNRED SEAT León TDI + 0.487 8
9. Tom Coronel NED SR Sport SEAT León TDI + 0.502 8
10. Yvan Muller FRA RML Chevrolet Cruze LT + 0.603 9
11. Norbert Michelisz HUN Zengö-Dension SEAT León TDI + 0.764 10
12. Fredy Barth SUNRED SEAT León TDI + 0.825 11
13. Franz Engstler (I) Team Engstler BMW 320si + 1.230 7
14. Sergio Hernández (I) Scuderia Proteam BMW 320si + 1.401 9
15. Mehdi Bennani (I) MOR Wiechers Sport BMW 320si + 1.882 13
16. Kristian Poulsen (I) DEN Poulsen Motorsport BMW 320si + 1.938 10
17. Andrey Romanov (I) RUS_thumb[2] Team Engstler BMW 320si + 2.409 9
18. Darryl O’Young (I) CHN Bamboo Chevrolet Lacetti + 2.417 9
19. Yukinori Taniguchi (I) JPN_thumb[2] Bamboo Chevrolet Lacetti + 4.671 8
20. Fabio Fabiani (I) Scuderia Proteam BMW 320si + 6.205 12
21. Stefano D’Aste (I) Scuderia Proteam BMW 320si no time 2

[Original image via FIA WTCC official site]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.