Andy Priaulx took his sixth win of the 2010 World Touring Car Championship season – more wins than he achieved in each of his three previous championship-winning seasons – taking a comfortable BMW 1-2 on home turf in the second race at the Oschersleben circuit.

Priaulx made a brilliant start to take the lead into Turn 1 as Michelisz yet again bogged it down off the line The result is crucial for the Guernseyman, who is enjoying a purple patch in form that has seen him close to within just 13 points of the championship-leading Yvan Muller.

Muller was himself able to perform an exercise in damage limitation by finishing third after starting from sixth on the grid, and his cause was certainly helped by Tiago Monteiro.

Chasing his SEAT team-mates Norbert Michelisz and Michel Nykjær, the former F1 driver conspired to nerf Nykjær out of third place, for which he was awarded a drive-through penalty.

It was an impressive BMW 1-2 at Germany Almost as if to prove to the Stewards that the penalty was completely warranted, he managed to have Michelisz run off the circuit as well while trying to pinch second place – he then pitted to serve his penalty. Monteiro would be hit with a 30-second time penalty post-race for this incident as well.

The antics of Monteiro proved of benefit to Augusto Farfus and Muller, both of whom climbed up the order to complete the podium.

Nykjær and Tom Coronel finished a distant fourth and fifth for SEAT, who lose their second place in the Constructors’ Championship standings to the resurgent BMW squad. Independent Trophy driver Kristian Poulsen had his most impressive result of the season, taking a fine sixth by keeping his head as the others around him lost theirs.

Monteiro (behind Nykjær) earned himself plenty of friends with his rough-house driving But for Michelisz, there was more action to come and he became embroiled in a fierce scrap for the final point on ffer later in the race. He had rejoined the circuit in eighth place after Monteiro’s rough driving, and was fending off Gabriele Tarquini, Robert Huff and Jordi Gené, who were all staging recovery drivers after starting well down the grid.

Arriving three abreast into Turn 1, Huff dived inside Tarquini to steal the place off the Italian. A few laps later, he touched Michelisz and passed him, which allowed Tarquini to draw alongside the Hungarian and ease him off the road in his attempt to get by. Michelisz finished 11th behind Gené.

The Oschersleben race stewards took a particularly dim view of the rather desperate driving that seemed to be doing the rounds this weekend, as another brace of penalties handed out to members of the 21-car field. Russian driver Andrei Romanov was hit with a 30-second time penalty – dropping him for 14th to 17th for hitting Yukinori Tanuguchi’s Chevrolet – and a suspended 10-place grid penalty, while Monteiro and Huff were issued with 10-place grid penalties that will remain suspended for two races for their separate incidents with Michelisz.


WTCC Oschersleben Race 2 Final Classification (14 laps):

  Driver   Team Result
1. Andy Priaulx GBR RBM Team BMW 320si 22:51.499
2. Augusto Farfus BRA RBM Team BMW 320si + 2.729
3. Yvan Muller FRA RML Chevrolet Cruze LT + 8.740
4. Michel Nykjær DEN SUNRED SEAT León TDI + 10.304
5. Tom Coronel NED SR Sport SEAT León TDI + 10.982
6. Kristian Poulsen (I) DEN Poulsen Motorsport BMW 320si + 11.989
7. Robert Huff RML Chevrolet Cruze LT + 16.691
8. Alain Menu SUI RML Chevrolet Cruze LT + 17.243
9. Gabriele Tarquini SR Sport SEAT León TDI + 17.919
10. Jordi Gené ESP SR Sport SEAT León TDI + 19.93
11. Norbert Michelisz HUN Zengö-Dension SEAT León TDI + 20.295
12. Darryl O’Young (I) CHN Bamboo Chevrolet Lacetti + 22.964
13. Sergio Hernández (I) ESP Scuderia Proteam BMW 320si + 23.582
14. Yukinori Taniguchi (I) JPN Bamboo Chevrolet Lacetti + 35.324
15. Franz Engstler (I) DEU Team Engstler BMW 320si + 38.679
16. Stefan D’Aste (I) ITA Scuderia Proteam BMW 320si + 47.949
17. Andrei Romanov (I)* RUS Team Engstler BMW 320si + 1:02.831
18. Tiago Monteiro** POR SR Sport SEAT León TDI + 1:04.318
19. Fabio Fabiani ITA Scuderia Proteam BMW 320si + 1:28.517
20. Fredy Barth SUI SUNRED SEAT León TDI + 1 lap
  Not Classified      
  Mehdi Bennani (I) MOR Wiechers Sport BMW 320si 0 laps

* Denotes 30-second time penalty applied post-race for colliding with Yukinori Taniguchi.
** Denotes a 30-second time penalty applied post-race for colliding with Norbert Michelisz.

[Original image via FIA WTCC official site]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.