The FIA’s World Motor Sport Council has unveiled a provisional 20-race calendar for next year’s Formula 1 season, the longest in F1 history.

FIA The new addition to the F1 calendar is the Indian Grand Prix, which is slated for a slot towards the end of the season.

The proposed schedule sees the season start earlier and finish later than this year’s calendar, with Brazil taking over the reins as the season-closing event, swapping places with Abu Dhabi.

Disappointingly for the Australian fans, the season looks set to open at the Bahrain circuit again, which played host to a soporifically dull opening chapter for this year’s championship. Furthermore, there will be four back-to-back Grand Prix weekends, which will be Malaysia-China, Spain-Monaco, Germany-Hungary and Japan-Korea.

The proposed calendar in full is as follows:

13/03 Bahrain Sakhir
27/03 Australia Albert Park
10/04 Malaysia Sepang
17/04 China Shanghai International Circuit
08/05 Turkey Istanbul
22/05 Spain Circuit de Catalunya
29/05 Monaco Monte Carlo
12/06 Canada Circuit de Gilles Vlleneuve
26/06 Europe Valencia street circuit
10/07 Great Britain Silverstone
24/07 Germany Nurburgring
31/07 Hungary Hungaroring
28/08 Belgium Spa-Francorchamps
11/09 Italy Monza
25/09 Singapore Marina Bay
09/10 Japan Suzuka
16/10 Korea Yeongyam
30/10 India* New Dehli
13/11 Abu Dhabi Yas Marina
27/11 Brazil Interlagos

* Subject to the FIA homologation of the circuit

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.