Low-fuel runs by Sebastian Vettel and Fernando Alonso have been enough to propel them to the top of the timesheets in the second practice session for the Italian Grand Prix, with the German driver just edging out the Spaniard on Ferrari’s home turf.

Sebastian Vettel eased out Fernando Alonso in FP2 However, it still looks like McLaren is the pacesetting outfit this weekend, with Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button lapping some three-quarters of a second faster than anyone else – that was, until Red Bull and Ferrari elected to send their drivers out for some low-fuel sprints in the final 30 minutes of the session.

Felipe Massa initially headed the running order, but his time was quickly overcome by Vettel, only for Alonso to jump to the top of the order. Vettel jumped back to the top of the timesheets again, with a 1:22.839 proving unbeatable.

Felipe Massa looked a possibility to topple Vettel in his final hot lap, posting purple sector times (fastest overall) until he put a wheel into the dirt at Parabolica, slid across the gravel and somehow managed to keep his Ferrari out of the wall.

McLaren were the pacesetters on higher fuel loads For McLaren, Button wound up quicker than Hamilton, but the two drivers opted for different set-up strategies: Button elected to run his MP4-25 with the ‘F-duct’, while Hamilton drove without it to finish just six-hundredths slower than his team-mate.

The two Toro Rosso drivers also elected to remove their new ‘F-ducts’ after just a single session running the devices.

Mark Webber finished sixth-quickest overall, but wound up slower than both McLarens after being denied the chance to improve his time when ordered to park his Red Bull when his Renault engine developed a loss of water pressure with 18 minutes’ running to go.

Webber had to stop with a water pressure problemRubens Barrichello enjoyed a more productive second practice session after having to sit on the sidelines in the first session with a loss of drive. The Brazilian managed to lap his Williams Cosworth seventh-quickest, with his team-mate Nico Hülkenberg sandwiching the Renault of Robert Kubica. Nico Rosberg rounded out the top ten.

Adrian Sutil finished up eleventh-quickest in his first chance in the Force India cockpit this weekend, just ahead of his team-mate Vitantonio Liuzzi. Contrary to popular speculation, neither Force India has looked particularly pace-setting, with many expecting the pair to feature prominently on this high-speed circuit.

Of the three rookie teams, Lotus redressed the balance and wound up quickest, with Jarno Trulli and Heikki Kovalainen posting almost 80 laps between them en route to 19th and 20th-quickest overall.

Bruno Senna didn't complete a timed lap But poor Bruno Senna endured another horror session in the Hispania after enduring yet more technical gremlins this session. After suffering brake leaks in the morning session, his car stopped at the exit of the pit lane with a loss of fuel pressure. He made another unsuccessful attempt to get going again midway through the session, and finally made it onto the circuit with ten minutes to go, only to grind to a halt on his out-lap.

The sister HRT of Sakon Yamamoto completed just five laps, while Jaime Alguersuari was also forced to park his Toro Rosso with half an hour to run.

2010 Italian GP Practice 2 Session Times:

  Driver   Team Time Laps
1. Sebastian Vettel DEU Red Bull Renault 1:22.839 27
2. Fernando Alonso ESP Ferrari + 0.076 32
3. Felipe Massa BRA Ferrari + 0.222 20
4. Lewis Hamilton GBR McLaren Mercedes + 0.315 22
5. Jenson Button GBR McLaren Mercedes + 0.371 38
6. Mark Webber AU Red Bull Renault + 0.576 23
7. Rubens Barrichello BRA Williams Cosworth + 0.869 31
8. Robert Kubica POL Renault + 0.870 32
9. Nico Hülkenberg DEU Williams Cosworth + 1.013 30
10. Nico Rosberg DEU Mercedes GP + 1.018 29
11. Adrian Sutil DEU Force India Mercedes + 1.342 35
12. Vitantonio Liuzzi ITA_thumb2[1] Force India Mercedes + 1.541 36
13. Vitaly Petrov RUS Renault + 1.568 21
14. Michael Schumacher DEU Mercedes GP + 1.609 29
15. Sébastien Buemi SUI Toro Rosso Ferrari + 1.678 35
16. Pedro de la Rosa ESP Sauber Ferrari + 1.708 32
17. Kamui Kobayashi JPN Sauber Ferrari + 1.946 31
18. Jaime Alguersuari ESP Toro Rosso Ferrari + 2.267 24
19. Jarno Trulli ITA_thumb2[1] Lotus Cosworth + 3.365 38
20. Heikki Kovalainen FIN_thumb[2] Lotus Cosworth + 3.467 41
21. Lucas di Grassi BRA Virgin Racing Cosworth + 3.792 31
22. Timo Glock DEU Virgin Racing Cosworth + 3.837 25
23. Sakon Yamamoto JPN HRT Cosworth + 6.659 5
24. Bruno Senna BRA HRT Cosworth no time 3

[Original images via AUTOSPORT and Sutton Images]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.