Tom Coronel posted the quickest lap time in the second and final practice session Coronel was quickest in the second practice session at Valenciaahead of this afternoon’s qualifying session to determine the grid for the first of the two-race World Touring Car Championship round at Valencia.

The Dutchman hauled his SEAT León TDI around the Ricardo Tomo circuit with a time of 1:44.537 to leapfrog the Chevrolets of Alain Menu and Robert Huff, who had led much of the session in their Cruze sedans.

While just pipped for outright honours, a confident Menu lapped almost half a second faster than his team-mate Huff, with the SEAT of Gabriele Tarquini splitting fellow championship contender Yvan Muller in the third Chevrolet.

Home crowd favourite Jordi Gené finished up sixth-quickest, ahead of two particularly rapid Independent Trophy drivers, Kristian Poulsen and Darryl O’Young, who showed a decent turn of pace on the Spanish circuit to finish inside the top-eight. SEAT’s guest driver Marc Carol finished ninth-quickest, just two hundredths of a second slower than O’Young in his petrol-powered SEAT.

Curiously the works BMWs of Augusto Farfus and Andy Priaulx were well down the order in 13th and 14th on the timesheets respectively, almost two seconds slower than the best lap from Coronel.


2010 WTCC Valencia 2nd Practice Session Times:

  Driver   Team Time Laps
1. Tom Coronel NED SR Sport SEAT León TDI 1:44.537 11
2. Alain Menu RML Chevrolet Cruze LT + 0.104 10
3. Robert Huff RML Chevrolet Cruze LT + 0.600 11
4. Gabriele Tarquini SR Sport SEAT León TDI + 0.789 12
5. Yvan Muller FRA RML Chevrolet Cruze LT + 0.878 10
6. Jordi Gené SR Sport SEAT León TDI + 1.157 12
7. Kristian Poulsen (I) DEN Poulsen Motorsport BMW 320si + 1.512 15
8. Darryl O’Young (I) CHN Bamboo Chevrolet Lacetti + 1.672 12
9. Marc Carol (I) SR Sport SEAT León TFSI + 1.692 12
10. Tiago Monteiro POR SR Sport SEAT León TDI + 1.796 11
11. Sergio Hernández (I) Scuderia Proteam BMW 320si + 1.852 13
12. Norbert Michelisz HUN Zengö-Dension SEAT León TDI + 1.918 11
13. Andy Priaulx RBM Team BMW 320si + 1.951 14
14. Augusto Farfus RBM Team BMW 320si + 1.972 13
15. Fredy Barth SUNRED SEAT León TDI + 2.260 12
16. Mehdi Bennani (I) MOR Wiechers Sport BMW 320si + 2.439 14
17. Michel Nykjær DEN SUNRED SEAT León TDI + 2.482 12
18. Yukinori Taniguchi (I) JPN_thumb[2] Bamboo Chevrolet Lacetti + 2.558 13
19. Andrey Romanov (I) RUS_thumb[2] Team Engstler BMW 320si + 2.674 15
20. Stefano D’Aste (I) Scuderia Proteam BMW 320si + 3.142 10
21. Franz Engstler (I) Team Engstler BMW 320si + 3.620 12

[Original image via FIA WTCC official site]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.