Covering three continents, four countries, 17 races and 2214 race laps – countless more in testing, practice and qualifying, by up to 41 different drivers, it comes down to 12 points separating 2 men, fighting for 1 series championship. Our well-informed IndyCar correspondent Matt Lennon preview what it set to be one of the most thrilling title deciders in IndyCar history…

Will Power It's a battle between Franchitti and Power for the title
Power has had Franchitti's measure on road courses, while the reverse has applied on ovals
Dario Franchitti

Down to the wire: The battle for title honours is between Will Power (left) and Dario Franchitti (right).

Many things will happen this weekend. Dario Franchitti may join Sam Hornish Jr as only the second three-time IndyCar Series champion. Chip Ganassi Racing may claim its third-consecutive drivers championship. Will Power may become the first Australian Indycar series champion in history. Power knows that to do so, he must not only finish ahead of Franchitti, but must ensure the 2010 Indy 500 winner does not score 13 points more than him, which may see the Aussie finish higher than he ever has before on an oval.

Helio Castroneves and Ryan Briscoe will be doing all they can to ensure that Will Power and the Penske team claim the overall championship. Following a strong run at Motegi two weeks ago, Briscoe has always run well at Homestead, finishing second here last year. Helio on the other hand has never been in better form, winning both of the last two races, with a lucky and strategic win at Kentucky followed by an utterly dominant win in Motegi last time out.

In driver movements, the musical chairs at Conquest Racing continues, with Roger Yasakawa (who was only in the car for one race anyway), making way for Sebastian Saavedra to make his second start of the year alongside his Indy 500 appearance. Paul Tracy vacates the Dreyer & Reinbold seat for Ana Beatriz. Speaking of D&R, regular race driver Mike Conway will attend his first IndyCar race since his terrifying leg-breaking accident sustained at the 500 in May.

At the end of the day though, there can only be one winner. Will it be the road- course champion Will Power? Will it be the oval-course champion Dario Franchitti? Interesting to note that if Dario grabs pole, leads the most laps and wins the race, even with Power finishing 2nd, Dario will win the championship by one point. It’s that close.

Check your local guides for the race telecast, or check out at 6pm Eastern United States time on Saturday night.

[Original images via AUTOSPORT and LAT]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.