V8 Supercars Australia has officially announced its 2011 season calendar today, with the major news being a return to Perth’s Barbagallo Raceway and the Bahrain round being shelved.

The V8 Supercars Championship returns to Barbagallo Raceway in 2011 The Barbagallo round was dropped for the 2010 season due to the poor conditions of the facilities at the circuit, but circuit owners have undertaken a series of works to lift the venue’s standards, which will fully functional by 2012.

Outer Brisbane’s Queensland Raceway venue – another which has been under threat and regularly criticised for its facilities – has had its future secured with an injection of local and state government funding.

The dropping of the Bahrain event seems to be more to do with a scheduling conflict rather than its historically poor crowd attendance. In terms of possible scheduling arrangements, the event could have been held a week or two after the Abu Dhabi round and the GP2 Asia round in February, but before the Australian Grand Prix in March, but this would logistically have proven too difficult. It is unknown if the Sakhir event will return to the V8 Supercars calendar.

Another rumour doing the rounds of late was the the V8 Supercars series would head to Singapore as a support event for the Formula 1 race, although it now seems more likely that the series will race at a purpose-built circuit at Changi.

The full 2011 calendar is as follows:

Dates Event
10-12 February Yas V8 400, Yas Marina Circuit, Abu Dhabi
17-20 March Clipsal 500, Adelaide street circuit
24-27 March Australian Grand Prix, Albert Park, Melbourne*
15-17 April ITM 400, Hamilton street circuit, New Zealand
6-8 May Barbagallo Raceway, Perth
20-22 May Winton Raceway, Winton
17-19 June SKYCITY Triple Crown, Hidden Valley, Darwin
8-10 July Sucrogen 400, Townsville street circuit
19-21 August Queensland Raceway, Ipswich
16-18 September L&H 500, Phillip Island**
6-9 October Supercheap Auto 1000, Bathurst**
21-23 October Armor All Gold Coast 600, Surfers Paradise street circuit**
11-13 November Falken Tasmania Challenge, Symmons Plains
18-20 November Norton 360 Challenge, Sandown Raceway, Melbourne
2-4 December Sydney Telstra 500, Homebush street circuit

* Denotes non-championship event
** Denotes endurance event, with two drivers sharing the same car

[Original image via Speed Cafe]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.