Championship ‘roughie’ Gary Paffett took pole position in a closely-fought qualifying session at Italy’s Adria circuit.

A trackside view of DTM qualifying at Adria

The McLaren test driver had the first run in the final top-four shoot-out for pole, and had a nail-biting time watching his three rivals – Bruno Spengler, Mattias Ekström and Jamie Green – all post better split times in their first and second sectors of their hot lap.

However, none could overhaul Paffett’s time in the final sector, and the Briton claimed pole by just one-hundredth of a second from Spengler.

Ekström could certainly count himself lucky to have made it into the final qualifying round, after being well off the pace in Q1. The Swede looked set to have been eliminated in the opening phase of qualifying by his Audi team-mate Timo Scheider. But Scheider was deemed to have started his hot lap after the chequered flag had already been waved to signify the end of the session, and this prompted an almighty tantrum from the German, who refused to leave his vehicle after being told his lap time would be disallowed.

Eventually his pit crew were able to convince him that this wasn’t the best course of action, to which Scheider threw his steering wheel out of the car and stormed off into the pit garages.

The third row will be occupied by Mike Rockenfeller and championship leader Paul di Resta, who has been fractionally off the pace in every session this weekend, although in his defence, he did only miss out on a shot at Q4 by just 0.08 seconds.

The Audis of Jarvis, Molina, Tomczyk and Winkelhock complete the top-ten, with the marque claiming six of the top ten grid positions for Sunday’s race.


2010 DTM Adria Qualifying Results:

  Driver   Q1 Time Q2 Time Q3 Time Q4 Time
1. Gary Paffett Mercedes-Benz Logo 1:10.618 1:10.120 1:10.212 1:10.471
2. Bruno Spengler Mercedes-Benz Logo 1:10.568 1:10.170 1:10.069 1:10.481
3. Mattias Ekström Audi Logo 1:10.915 1:09.998 1:10.149 1:10.560
4. Jamie Green Mercedes-Benz Logo 1:10.831 1:09.898 1:10.156 1:10.700
5. Mike Rockenfeller Audi Logo 1:10.617 1:10.253 1:10.271  
6. Paul di Resta Mercedes-Benz Logo 1:10.338 1:10.285 1:10.309  
7. Oliver Jarvis Audi Logo 1:10.788 1:10.130 1:10.349  
8. Miguel Molina Audi Logo 1:10.732 1:10.218 1:10.431  
9. Martin Tomczyk Audi Logo 1:10.852 1:10.371    
10. Markus Winkelhock Audi Logo 1:10.733 1:10.464    
11. Alexandre Prémat Audi Logo 1:10.781 1:10.466    
12. Maro Engel Mercedes-Benz Logo 1:10.882 1:10.666    
13. Susie Stoddart Mercedes-Benz Logo 1:10.881 1:10.903    
14. Ralf Schumacher Mercedes-Benz Logo 1:10.890 1:10.975    
15. Timo Scheider Audi Logo 1:10.983      
16. David Coulthard Mercedes-Benz Logo 1:11.082      
17. Congfu Cheng Mercedes-Benz Logo 1:11.083      
18. Katherine Legge Audi Logo 1:11.269      
The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.