The FIA world Motor Sport Council has signed off on the final calendar for next year’s Formula 1 season, which has swelled to a record 20 events with the addition of the inaugural Indian Grand Prix.

FIATwo events require FIA homologation (with India being an obvious nomination given it is making its debut). China’s Shanghai International Circuit’s FIA license has expired, and some upgrades need to be completed at the venue before a new license is issued.

The remaining rounds are listed as scheduled in the original calendar drafted in September.

Bahrain kicks off the season once again in mid-March – although thankfully dumping its dreary ‘endurance loop’ from the circuit layout – and Brazil takes back its traditional season finale slot in late November. Turkey is the opening race on the European section of the calendar, while the Nürburgring takes over hosting duties for the German, continuing its alternation with Hockenheim.

The final 2011 calendar schedule is as follows:

11-13 March Bahrain International Circuit, Sakhir, Bahrain
25-27 March Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit, Melbourne, Australia
8-10 April Sepang International Circuit, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
15-17 April Shanghai International Circuit, China*
6-8 May Istanbul Park Circuit, Turkey
20-22 May Circuit de Catalunya, Spain
26-29 May Monte Carlo street circuit, Monaco
10-12 June Circuit de Gilles Villeneuve, Montreal, Canada
24-26 June Valencia street circuit, Spain
8-10 July Silverstone, Great Britain
22-24 July Nürburgring, Germany
29-31 July Hungaroring, Hungary
26-28 August Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium
9-11 September Autodromo Internazionale di Monza, Italy
23-25 September Marin Bay street circuit, Singapore
7-9 October Suzuka International Circuit, Japan
14-16 October Korea International Circuit, Yeongyam, Korea
28-30 October Jaypee Group Circuit, Dehli, India*
11-13 November Yas Maina Circuit, Abu Dhabi, UAE
25-27 November Autódromo José Carlos Pace, Sao Paulo, Brazil

* Subject to FIA homologation of the circuit

[Original image via AUTOSPORT]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.