Robert Huff has continued his domination of this year’s World Touring Car Championship finale at Macau by claiming pole position for Sunday’s first nine-lap race.

Huff took pole position in a delayed Q2 session The Briton put himself in prime position to claim second overall in the Drivers’ Championship standings – a battle he is currently waging against Gabriele Tarquini and Andy Priaulx – and the result could not have been better for the Chevrolet driver, who went quickest in the delayed top-ten shootout phase of qualifying.

Hungarian Norbert Michelisz put in a hugely impressive performance in his SEAT, vaulting to second quickest on his final timed lap, which also served to deny Chevrolet a 1-2-3 on the grid with newly crowned champion Yvan Muller now third and team-mate Alain Menu in fourth.

Muller was himself lucky to do so well in the session, after he tagged the wall at Lisboa early in the session. He pitted as a precaution and rejoined to post his lap times in the closing minutes.

But Chevrolet will still start from the top three grid slots with Michelisz issued a five-place grid penalty for missing a weighbridge check on Friday.

The result means that fifth-quickest Tiago Monteiro now starts from fourth as the leading SEAT driver, ahead of Augusto Farfus and Gabriele Tarquini.

With Michelisz now sixth, Andy Priaulx starts from the fourth row alongside him, and the pair will line up ahead of Independent Trophy driver Darryl O’Young and Macau guest driver André Couto.


2010 WTCC Macau Qualifying 2 (Provisional Classification):

  Driver   Team Time Laps
1. Robert Huff RML Chevrolet Cruze LT 2:31.321 5
2. Norbert Michelisz HUN Zengö-Dension SEAT León TDI + 0.407 5
3. Yvan Muller FRA RML Chevrolet Cruze LT + 0.452 5
4. Alain Menu RML Chevrolet Cruze LT + 0.541 5
5. Tiago Monteiro POR SR Sport SEAT León TDI + 0.625 4
6. Augusto Farfus RBM Team BMW 320si + 0.901 3
7. Gabriele Tarquini SR Sport SEAT León TDI + 0.901 5
8. Andy Priaulx RBM Team BMW 320si + 1.157 5
9. Darryl O’Young (I) HKG Bamboo Chevrolet Lacetti + 1.864 5
10. André Couto MAC SR Sport SEAT León TDI + 5.752 4

[Original image via FIA WTCC official site]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.