Formula 1’s governing body, the FIA, has published its 2011 season entry list, which reveals that a half of the grid’s twelve teams are yet to submit their complete driver entry lists for next season.

Of the outfits, Red Bull, McLaren, Ferrari, Mercedes GP, Sauber and Lotus Racing (whose entry has been lodged as ‘Team Lotus’) have submitted completed line-ups, all but confirming that the Lotus pairing of Heikki Kovalainen and Jarno Trulli will continue next season, despite no official announcement from the team itself.

Renault (Robert Kubica) and Williams (Rubens Barrichello) have confirmed one-half of their line-ups, and it is suspected that Vitaly Petrov will be retained by the former and Pastor Maldonado will join the latter for 2011.

Renault is still listed as the ‘Renault F1 Team’, amidst speculation that Group Lotus might step in as a title and naming rights sponsor, and effectively force ‘Team Lotus’ to change its name.

Interestingly, Force India and Toro Rosso have not had any driver listings, despite STR having confirmed the re-signing of Jaime Alguersuari and Sébastien Buemi for 2011. Force India’s failure to nominate a single driver is equally interesting, meaning that Adrian Sutil, Vitantonio Liuzzi, Paul di Resta and Nico Hülkenberg are all still theoretically in the running for the available seats.

Double vacancies are also still showing at Virgin Racing (now listed as ‘Marussia Virgin Racing’ in deference to its new title sponsorship), although Timo Glock is expected to be retained and the team is believed to be auctioning its second seat to the highest bidder.

Not surprisingly, Hispania Racing has also not listed any drivers, and it too is expected to give its seats to the highest-backed drivers.

The preliminary driver entry list is as follows:

Red Bull Racing Renault 1. Sebastian Vettel
  2. Mark Webber
Vodafone McLaren Mercedes 3. Jenson Button
  4. Lewis Hamilton
Scuderia Ferrari Marlboro 5. Fernando Alonso
  6. Felipe Massa
Mercedes GP Petronas F1 Team 7. Michael Schumacher
  8. Nico Rosberg
Renault F1 Team 9. Robert Kubica
  10. TBA
AT&T Williams Cosworth 11. Rubens Barrichello
  12. TBA
Force India Mercedes F1 Team 14. TBA
  15. TBA
Sauber Ferrari F1 Team 16. Kamui Kobayashi
  17. Sergio Pérez
Scuderia Toro Rosso Ferrari 18. TBA
  19. TBA
Team Lotus Renault 20. Jarno Trulli
  21. Heikki Kovalainen
HRT Cosworth F1 Team 22. TBA
  23. TBA
Marussia Virgin Racing Cosworth 24. TBA
  25. TBA
The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.