AUTOSPORT Awards 2010

Tonight sees one of the biggest annual events in motorsport get underway, with the 2010 AUTOSPORT Awards happening in London’s Grosvenor House Hotel.

Held every year since 1982, the Awards recognise the high achievers in international and British domestic motorsport competition, and are considered as one of the social events on the motorsport calendar.

There will be plenty of Formula 1 representation at tonight’s event, with Sebastian Vettel hoping to be recognised for his final-round championship-winning effort by taking out the International Racing Driver of the Year award. But the German will face strong opposition from his season-long title challengers, with the likes of Mark Webber, Fernando Alonso, Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button all nominated alongside the Red Bull driver.

Jenson Button took out two awards at last year's AUTOSPORT Awards Last year’s F1 champion Button took out the International and British Competition Driver of the Year awards, and he’ll be hoping for a repeat as well, with Hamilton also nominated in the latter category. Other contenders for Britain’s highest motorsport gong include newly-crowned IndyCar champion Dario Franchitti and newly-crowned DTM champion Paul di Resta.

Another hotly contested award will be the Rookie of the Year award, which pitches Kamui Kobayashi, Nico Hülkenberg and Vitaly Petrov against each other. This award has a large nominee pool, with GP2 runners Sam Bird and Jules Bianchi featuring alongside WRC debutant Kimi Räikkönen, Formula 2 champion Dean Stoneman, British F3 champion Jean-Eric Vergne, and IndyCar runners Alex Lloyd and Simona di Silvestro.

[Original images via AUTOSPORT]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.