The cream of the crop from all of the FIA-sanctioned championships met at the governing body’s annual prize-giving ball at Monaco to receive their accolades overnight.

Vettel poses with his RBR boss Christian Horner and their respective trophies Sebastian and Red Bull Racing received the top honours as the respective winners of the Formula 1 Drivers’ and Constructors’ World Championships.

Vettel became the sport’s youngest-ever champion when he took the championship with a lights-to-flag victory at the season-ending Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, having not led the championship at any given point during the 2010 season.

An emotional Vettel was thrilled to finally be crowned as Formula 1’s newest champion.

“This is an amazing evening for me and for the Red Bull Racing team,” he said. “I’m thrilled to be here to collect the drivers’ championship trophy, something I have dreamt of since I started racing.

“Winning the championship is unbelievable; it marks an incredible season for us, with many ups and downs. We kept believing in our team, in our car and enjoyed every race.

“I would really like to thank all the Red Bull Racing team and Renault Engines for their efforts and dedication in ensuring we had such an amazing car this year. I am extremely proud of the success we have achieved together.”

Also present at the event were championship runners-up Fernando Alonso and Mark Webber, who picked up their respective trophies for finishing in the top three in the Drivers’ Championship.

Other big names in motorsport were also acknowledged at the FIA Gala night, with Sébastien Loeb collecting his seventh consecutive World Rally Drivers’ Championship, with Citroen taking the Manufacturers’ crown.

Yvan Muller became the first World Touring Car Champion to achieve the feat with separate manufacturers, with his Chevrolet team taking its first Manufacturers’ title. It is also the first time that General Motors has achieved any manufacturer title in an international FIA championship series.

Former F1 pilot Michael Bartels and his team-mate Andrea Bertolini were recognised for taking the first championship in the inaugural GT1 World Championship.

Rather surprisingly, the Korean Grand Prix race promoter and its national automobile racing association were the recipients of the FIA Formula 1 Promotional Trophies. The award for the best F1 broadcast was given to Abu Dhabi TV for its coverage of the season-ending race.

Three-time former World Champion Sir Jack Brabham was awarded the FIA Academy Award for his services to motorsport.

[Original images via the Federation Internationale de l’Automobile]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.