Highlights from the opening V8s race at Yas Marina

Former champion Jamie Whincup has continued his domination at Yas Marina, taking a third consecutive win at the circuit when the V8 Supercars Championship kicked off overnight.

The Team Vodafone is the only series driver to-date to have tasted victory on the Hermann Tilke circuit, winning by a comfortable thirteen seconds from Alex Davison and Mark Winterbottom.

Starting from the front row, Whincup and his team-mate and polesitter made poor getaways, allowing Davison to take the lead into Turn 1 from third on the grid.

But Whincup would quickly readdress the situation, passing Davison on the opening lap along the back straight, and set about on building a cushion for an unchallenged victory.

As Whincup disappeared into the distance, Davison and Winterbottom enjoyed a lengthy battle for second place, which was eventually resolved in Davison’s favour when Winterbottom’s second pit stop proved slower than the Irwin Tools racing team, giving Davison his second ever podium finish.

Shane van Gisbergen made up the most ground during the race, finishing fourth after starting the race from a lowly 15th. Behind the Kiwi, young Tim Slade held on to fifth place, fending off a strong attack from TOLL HRT’s Garth Tander, who had also staged an impressive charge from a 14th-placed starting position.

Tander’s team-mate, the defending champion James Courtney, had a rotten maiden outing for the HRT outfit after he tangled with Jason Bargwanna and lost a lot of time in the pits having the damage repaired. But the former Jaguar F1 test driver showed his pace one the panel-beating had been done, posting a series of fastest laps on-track despite finishing a disappointing 26th.

Another driver who should be disappointed with a squandered opportunity was polesitter Craig Lowndes, who stalled off the line and dropped well down the field. He eventually finished in seventh place, but worked his tyres hard trying to make up lost ground.

Race 2 is scheduled for Saturday, preceded by a 20-minute qualifying session.


V8 Supercars Yas 400 Final Classification (Race 1 – 43 laps):

  Driver   Team Time
1. Jamie Whincup Holden Team Vodafone 1:27:01.678
2. Alex Davison Ford Irwin Racing + 13.202
3. Mark Winterbottom Ford Orrcon Steel FPR + 15.282
4. Shane van Gisbergen Ford SP Tool Racing FPR + 19.901
5. Tim Slade Ford Lucky 7 Racing + 20.984
6. Garth Tander Holden TOLL Holden Racing Team + 30.989
7. Craig Lowndes Holden Team Vodafone + 37.346
8. Fabian Coulthard Holden Huzzah Racing + 38.428
9. Lee Holdsworth Holden Fujitsu Racing GRM + 57.995
10. Todd Kelly Holden Kelly Racing + 1:01.376
11. Steven Johnson Ford Dick Johnson Racing + 1:03.349
12. Will Davison Ford Trading Post FPR + 1:10.576
13. Rick Kelly Holden Kelly Racing + 1:16.422
14. Steve Owen Holden VIP Petfoods + 1:17.254
15. Michael Caruso Holden Fujitsu Racing GRM + 1:19.802
16. James Moffatt Ford Dick Johnson Racing + 1:22.062
17. David Reynolds Holden Stratco Racing + 1:27.459
18. Tony D’Alberto Holden Wilson Security Racing + 1:29.439
19. Jason Bargwanna Holden Team BOC + 1:32.847
20. Jonathon Webb Ford Mother Energy Racing Team + 1:35.233
21. Greg Murphy Holden Pepsi Max Crew + 1:40.083
22. Dean Fiore Ford Triple F Racing + 1:57.979
23. Warren Luff Holden Gulf Western Oil Racing 1 lap behind
24. Russell Ingall Holden Supercheap Auto Racing 1 lap behind
25. Paul Dumbrell Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team 4 laps behind
26. James Courtney Holden TOLL Holden Racing Team 4 laps behind
  Not Classified      
  Karl Reindler Holden Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing 41 laps
  Jason Bright Holden Team BOC 20 laps

[Original video via V8 Supercars Australia]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.