Nico Rosberg will be awarded the Trofeo Lorenzo BandiniNico Rosberg has been confirmed as this year’s winner of the prestigious Trofeo Lorenzo Bandini, the award set up in honour of the Italian F1 driver who died almost 43 years ago in a fiery accident at the Monaco Grand Prix.

The award – set up in 1992 – is given to an outstanding figure in the world of motor racing, and its honour role includes the likes of newly-crowned World Champion Sebastian Vettel, Lewis Hamilton, Robert Kubica, Felipe Massa, Mark Webber, Fernando Alonso and many more.

Organisers have confirmed that Rosberg will be presented with the award on June 5 at Bandini’s hometown of Brisighella, located some twelve miles from the Faenza-based headquarters of the Toro Rosso team.

Previous recipients have traditionally been given the honour of driving the Faenza-Brisighella route in a Formula 1 car, and it is believed that Rosberg – who took Mercedes GP to several podium finishes in his most-impressive season to-date – will be afforded a similar opportunity.

[Original image via Sutton Images]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.