The Penske team has taken a clean sweep of the two-day test at the Barber Motorsport Park, with Hélio Castroneves following on from his team-mate Will Power’s Helio Castroneves finished quickest at the end of the two-day Barber test efforts the day before by going quickest overall on the second day’s running.

The Brazilian eased out his team-mate Power by just two-hundredths of a second, while the third Penske of Ryan Briscoe was fourth-quickest.

Splitting the Australian drivers was Scott Dixon, with the Ganassi driver lapping fractionally quicker than Briscoe. The Newman/Haas entry of the currently out-of-contract Oriol Servià was fifth-fastest, with the Catalan doing his chances of securing a full-time drive no harm at all.

The schedule for the second day underwent a minor change after overnight rain, but the day’s two sessions were run in dry conditions, with Power lapping quickest in the morning, while Castroneves – who also had a spin – was fastest in the afternoon.

Former F1 racer Takuma Sato improved on his first day’s efforts to finish sixth-fastest in a specially-liveried car to honour the Japanese earthquake victims, with the KV Racing driver splitting the Newman/Haas entries, finishing one spot faster than James Hinchcliffe.

Marco Andretti also improved to finish eighth-fastest and the quickest of the Andretti Autosports entries, with team-mates Ryan Hunter-Reay (10th), Danica Patrick (13th) and Mike Conway (16th) not too far behind, although Conway ended his day early with a crash.

Dario Franchitti, however, had another off-the-pace day, struggling to get a set-up together and finishing down the order in 11th, almost a second slower than the two leading Penskes.


Barber Motorsport Park Pre-Season Test (Day 1 & 2) Lap Times:

  Driver   Team Time
1. Hélio Castroneves BRZ Team Penske 1:11.9434
2. Will Power AUS Team Penske + 0.0202
3. Scott Dixon NZL Target Chip Ganassi + 0.3381
4. Ryan Briscoe AUS Team Penske + 0.3520
5. Oriol Servià ESP Newman/Haas Racing + 0.4160
6. Takuma Sato JPN KV Racing Technology Lotus + 0.5308
7. James Hinchcliffe CDN Newman/Haas Racing + 0.5766
8. Marco Andretti USA Andretti Autosport + 0.5821
9. Justin Wilson GBR Dreyer & Reinbold Racing + 0.7357
10. Ryan Hunter-Reay USA Andretti Autosport + 0.8315
11. Dario Franchitti GBR Target Chip Ganassi + 0.9013
12. Alex Tagliani CDN Sam Schmidt Motorsports + 0.9099
13. Danica Patrick USA Andretti Autosport + 1.0204
14. Graham Rahal USA Service Central Chip Ganassi + 1.0370
15. EJ Viso VEN KV Racing Technology Lotus + 1.0736
16. Mike Conway GBR Andretti Autosport + 1.0904
17. Vitor Meira BRZ AJ Foyt Enterprises + 1.1717
18. Simona di Silvestro SUI HVM Racing + 1.3237
19. Sébastien Bourdais FRA Dale Coyne Racing + 1.3470
20. Charlie Kimball USA Novo Nordisk Chip Ganassi + 1.3917
21. James Jakes GBR Dale Coyne Racing + 1.4889
22. Sebastian Saavedra COL Conquest Racing + 1.7069
23. Ana Beatriz BRZ Dreyer & Reinbold Racing + 1.9997
24. JR Hildebrand USA Panther Racing + 2.6100

[Original image via IZOD IndyCar Series]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.