Former V8 Supercars champion Garth Tander has taken pole for the opening race of Garth Tander took pole for the first leg of the Clipsal 500this weekend’s Clipsal 500 event in Adelaide, giving him the perfect platform to launch a successful defence of the race he won last year. It the TOLL Holden Racing Team driver’s first pole position of the season and his third on the shortened version of the former Grand Prix circuit.

Tander lapped quickest ahead of his nine rivals in the day’s top-ten shootout, finishing three-tenths quicker than current championship leader Jamie Whincup in the Team Vodafone Holden.

It was an all-Holden second row, with GRM’s Lee Holdsworth qualifying third-fastest ahead of Rick Kelly in the Jack Daniels Commodore.

The honour of the fastest Ford driver when to fifth-placed Mark Winterbottom, who headed a FPR trio ahead of team-mates Shane van Gisbergen and Will Davison.

Watch the highlights from today’s qualifying session

Defending champion James Courtney finished up eighth-quickest – complaining of a lack of rear grip in his HRT Commodore, while Jason Bright and Paul Dumbrell were the slowest pair in the shootout session.

Dumbrell had actually been quickest of the entire 28-car field in the preceding 20-minute qualifying session that decides the make-up of the shootout and the grid order from eleventh place onwards, but the Bottle-O Racing Team driver made a mistake at the final corner on his single flying lap in the shootout.

The earlier qualifying session was also marred by a collision between Tander and Will Davison, which saw both cars enjoying a quick spin. Tander’s car underwent some hasty repairs in time for him to rejoin the track and take the most of his opportunities to clinch pole.

V8 Supercars Clipsal 500 Qualifying Results (Race 1):

  Driver   Team Time Laps
1. Garth Tander Holden TOLL Holden Racing Team 1:22.3830 1
2. Jamie Whincup Holden Team Vodafone 1:22:6217 1
3. Lee Holdsworth Holden Fujitsu Racing GRM 1:22:6771 1
4. Rick Kelly Holden Kelly Racing 1:22:7405 1
5. Mark Winterbottom Ford Orrcon Steel FPR 1:22:7629 1
6. Shane van Gisbergen Ford SP Tool Racing FPR 1:22:8866 1
7. Will Davison Ford Trading Post FPR 1:23:0273 1
8. James Courtney Holden TOLL Holden Racing Team 1:23:3045 1
9. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC 1:23:4200 1
10. Paul Dumbrell Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team 1:31:9403 1
11. Craig Lowndes Holden Team Vodafone 1:22:0518 11
12. Steven Johnson Ford Dick Johnson Racing 1:22:0586 9
13. Steve Owen Holden VIP Petfoods 1:22:0686 11
14. Jonathon Webb Ford Mother Energy Racing Team 1:22:0797 11
15. Tim Slade Ford Lucky 7 Racing 1:22:1080 11
16. Todd Kelly Holden Kelly Racing 1:22:1757 11
17. Jason Bargwanna Holden Team BOC 1:22:1803 10
18. Michael Caruso Holden Fujitsu Racing GRM 1:22:2488 11
19. Tony D’Alberto Ford Wilson Security Racing 1:22:3035 12
20. Fabian Coulthard Holden Huzzah Racing 1:22:3075 10
21. David Reynolds Holden Stratco Racing 1:22:3169 11
22. Russell Ingall Holden Supercheap Auto Racing 1:22:3896 11
23. Alex Davison Ford Irwin Racing 1:22:3928 12
24. Greg Murphy Holden Pepsi Max Crew 1:22:4038 10
25. James Moffatt Ford Dick Johnson Racing 1:22:4125 12
26. Warren Luff Holden Gulf Western Oil Racing 1:22:7384 11
27. Dean Fiore Ford Triple F Racing 1:22:7758 12
28. Karl Reindler Holden Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing 1:23:0861 11

* Top-10 starting order determined via a separate top-ten single-lap qualifying session

[Original images via Holden Racing Team]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.