Will Davison took pole for Race 2 at the Clipsal 500 Will Davison has marked his switch to Ford in a very positive manner by clinching pole for today’s second race of the Clipsal 500 round on the streets of Adelaide. It is the former TOLL HRT driver’s first pole position since 2009, which is coincidentally the same year when Ford took its last pole at Adelaide.

The FPR driver’s best lap – a 1:21.2978 – was set halfway through the morning’s 20-minute qualifying session, and it proved strong enough to ensure he would start from pole, while Jamie Whincup repeated his qualifying efforts from yesterday with another front-row start. Davison’s team-mate Mark Winterbottom will start from third place.

In what was a very close qualifying session – just 1.8 seconds covered the entire field – Lee Holdsworth finished an excellent fourth-quickest, while defending champion James Courtney will be hoping a third-row grid slot will propel him to a good result after a poor opening race at Adelaide where he finished in 24th after a crash.

Courtney’s team-mate and yesterday’s race-winner Garth Tander had a poor qualifying session, winding up 13th after battling with his car in this session.

The qualifying session produced a few surprises on the timesheets, with David Reynolds earning an excellent top-ten result, while Paul Morris Motorsport team-mates Greg Murphy and Russell Ingall also managed to get into the top half of the grid.

The second 78-lap race gets underway this afternoon, and rain periods are forecast. Make sure you check back on Richard’s F1 for the latest V8 Supercars news.

V8 Supercars Clipsal 500 Qualifying Results (Race 2):

  Driver   Team Time Laps
1. Will Davison Ford Trading Post FPR 1:21.2978 11
2. Jamie Whincup Holden Team Vodafone 1:21:4781 10
3. Mark Winterbottom Ford Orrcon Steel FPR 1:21:4925 12
4. Lee Holdsworth Holden Fujitsu Racing GRM 1:21:5204 12
5. James Courtney Holden TOLL Holden Racing Team 1:21:5726 11
6. Paul Dumbrell Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team 1:21:6336 11
7. Jonathon Webb Ford Mother Energy Racing Team 1:21:7794 11
8. Rick Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s Racing 1:21:7974 10
9. Craig Lowndes Holden Team Vodafone 1:21:8000 11
10. David Reynolds Holden Stratco Racing 1:21:8799 10
11. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC 1:21:8923 11
12. Greg Murphy Holden Pepsi Max Crew 1:21:9298 10
13. Garth Tander Holden TOLL Holden Racing Team 1:22:0102 10
14. Russell Ingall Holden Supercheap Auto Racing 1:22:0263 12
15. Steven Johnson Ford Jim Beam Racing 1:22:1100 11
16. Jason Bargwanna Holden Team BOC 1:22:1215 9
17. Tony D’Alberto Ford Wilson Security Racing 1:22:1447 8
18. Tim Slade Ford Lucky 7 Racing 1:22:2139 10
19. Todd Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s Racing 1:22:2775 5
20. Alex Davison Ford Irwin Racing 1:22:2895 12
21. Fabian Coulthard Holden Bundaberg Racing 1:22:2943 11
22. Michael Caruso Holden Fujitsu Racing GRM 1:22:3458 11
23. Shane van Gisbergen Ford SP Tool Racing FPR 1:22:3850 10
24. James Moffat Ford Jim Beam Racing 1:22:5221 11
25. Karl Reindler Holden Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing 1:22:5641 9
26. Dean Fiore Ford Triple F Racing 1:22:8203 9
27. Warren Luff Holden Gulf Western Oil Racing 1:23:0714 11
WD Steve Owen Holden VIP Petfoods Withdrawn  

[Original image via Speed Cafe]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.