Highlights from the second race of the Clipsal 500

Team Vodafone driver Jamie Whincup has claimed victory in a rain-hit second race of the V8 Supercars Championship’ iconic Clipsal 500 round, with the result ensuring the former series champion extends his current lead in the Drivers’ Championship standings.

The win is Whincup’s sixth on the streets of Adelaide – although his first in Holden machinery – since his series debut in 2006, and the race was a thrilling one, with him taking a slender win ahead of Ricky Kelly (Jack Daniel’s Racing) and Mark Winterbottom (Ford Performance Racing).

In front of a huge crowd of 81,000 race-day fans, Whincup started on the front row alongside FPR’s Will Davison although dropped behind the fast-starting Lee Holdsworth as the lights went green.

The slippery track surface saw some move up the order while others fell down, and Whincup was quickly able to recover the lost ground and challenge Davison for the lead. The two would swap places several times, until Whincup made a mistake at Turn 11 and dropped behind James Courtney.

Courtney assumed the lead from Davison on lap 23. During the first of pit stops, Davison lost further ground with a late call to stay on wet tyres, while conversely Holdsworth took the gamble to move to slick tyres, figuring the track was drying enough.

His hypothesis was proven wrong when he hit the wall just a few laps later, bringing out the first safety car.

Rick Kelly took advantage of the full-course caution to pit and he now lead from Courtney, and the defending champion dropped to third behind Jonathon Webb at the restart.

Then on lap 35, Jason Bright ended a bad day for Team BOC – team-mate Jason Bargwanna had retired after a lap when he was rear-ended by Todd Kelly – when he hit the wall at Turn 2 and scattered bits of his Holden across the width of the track.

Another safety car was called, but this didn’t help Craig Lowndes, who dropped from fifth to 22nd when he picked up a puncture and had to pit.

Kelly continued to hold his lead after the second restart, while Whincup set about climbing back up the order, passing Courtney for third and then taking second place from Webb.

Whincup took the race lead from Kelly on lap 44, a position he would hold until the end of the race.

The third safety car interruption – on lap 50 to retrieve Warren Luff’s car – was perfectly timed for everyone’s second pit stop, with the entire field switching to dry tyres with the last moisture having all but gone from the racing line. The pit stop action saw a scary moment for Craig Lowndes and a pit lane marshal, with the Team Vodafone driver tapped into a spin at the exit of pit lane after he was unsafely released by his pit crew into the path of Greg Murphy. Lowndes was handed a drive-through penalty for his troubles.

Winterbottom passes Courtney for third to become the highest-placed Ford driver, and he was involved in a great scrap with Kelly for second place, although the Jack Daniel’s driver would prevail in the end.

Paul Dumbrell looked like a candidate for a fourth-placed finish, but he made a mistake at Turn 4 and dropped by the HRT duo of Courtney and yesterday’s Race 1 winner, Garth Tander, forcing him to settle for sixth place.

The victory for Whincup now sees his championship lead extended to 144 points over Mark Winterbottom, while Garth Tander is a further 60 points adrift in third place.

The V8 Supercars head to Albert Park for next weekend’s Australian Grand Prix, where they will run three non-championship races in support of the Formula 1 Grand Prix.


V8 Supercars Clipsal 500 Final Classification (Race 2 – 77 laps):

  Driver   Team Result
1. Jamie Whincup Holden Team Vodafone 2:08:50.3685
2. Rick Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s Racing + 1.3206
3. Mark Winterbottom Ford Orrcon Steel FPR + 2.1239
4. James Courtney Holden TOLL Holden Racing Team + 6.0891
5. Garth Tander Holden TOLL Holden Racing Team + 8.2857
6. Paul Dumbrell Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team + 9.1218
7. Will Davison Ford Trading Post FPR + 9.8217
8. Steven Johnson Ford Jim Beam Racing + 13.1748
9. Fabian Coulthard Holden Bundaberg Racing + 15.1788
10. Alex Davison Ford Irwin Racing + 16.5996
11. Jonathon Webb Ford Mother Energy Racing Team + 19.6104
12. Craig Lowndes Holden Team Vodafone + 28.1154
13. Tim Slade Ford Lucky 7 Racing + 30.3988
14. David Reynolds Holden Stratco Racing + 32.3736
15. Dean Fiore Ford Triple F Racing + 36.6389
16. Russell Ingall Holden Supercheap Auto Racing + 48.5751
17. Karl Reindler Holden Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing + 51.8557
18. Shane van Gisbergen Ford SP Tool Racing FPR + 1:06.7221
19. Greg Murphy Holden Pepsi Max Crew + 1:11.8649
20. Tony D’Alberto Ford Wilson Security Racing + 1 lap
21. Michael Caruso Holden Fujitsu Racing GRM + 1 lap
22. James Moffat Ford Jim Beam Racing + 14 laps
23. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC + 18 laps
  Not Classified      
  Warren Luff Holden Gulf Western Oil Racing 59 laps
  Todd Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s Racing 33 laps
  Lee Holdsworth Holden Fujitsu Racing GRM 27 laps
  Jason Bargwanna Holden Team BOC 1 lap
NP Steve Owen Holden VIP Petfoods Withdrew
The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.