Sauber has been stripped of the ten championship points it earned from the Australian Grand, after the C30s of sixth-placed Sergio Pérez and seventh-placed Kamui Kobayashi failed post-race scrutineering.

A statement from the FIA confirms breaches in Articles 3.10.1 and 3.10.2 of the Technical Regulations, which relate specifically to the curvature and radius of the three rear-wing elements. The team has admitted to the oversight, but rules are rules and the points are gone for the moment while the team lodges an appeal.

The result sees ninth-placed Felipe Massa promoted to seventh, ahead of Toro Rosso’s Sébastien Buemi. The Force India drivers of Adrian Sutil and Paul di Resta are now points’ finishers in ninth and tenth respectively.

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.