The Kelly brothers locked out the front row for the second race at Hamilton

Jack Daniel’s Racing have continued their hot run at the ITM 400 in Hamilton with yesterday’s winner Rick Kelly qualifying on pole position in this morning’s rain-affected qualifying session. And to cap off a great morning for the outfit, he will start alongside his team-mate and older brother, Todd.

The result was Kelly’s first pole position since last year’s round at Winton Raceway, and it is Todd’s first front-row start since the Tasmanian round in 2009.

The pair played their hand perfectly, timing their banker qualifying lap to perfection just before the heavens opened once again on the street circuit. Others, however, were caught out by the conditions, and quickly found the track too wet to post a decent slick-tyre lap.

Highlights from the ITM400 Race 2 qualifying at Hamilton

The conditions saw a wide time spread across the field, with the gap between the Kelly brothers being three-quarters of a second, while at the bottom of the timesheets, seven drivers failed to post a qualifying lap within the 105% threshold and will now rely on the goodwill of race officials to be allowed to start.

Kelly’s best lap of 1:27.2478 was posted early in the twenty-minute session, and as conditions worsened, his pole was all but assured, and the rest of the grid was rather jumbled in comparison to the usual form guide.

Despite enjoying the advantage of a good pit position and being first out onto the circuit in qualifying, the Team Vodafone pair of Craig Lowndes and series lead Jamie Whincup could do not better than eighth and ninth, respectively.

Other big names who failed to get to grips with the tricky conditions were James Courtney (13th), Garth Tander (19th) and Mark Winterbottom (21st).

Meanwhile, Steve Owen achieved his best-ever V8 Supercars qualifying result – in the single-driver format – by posting the third-fastest time, while local drivers Shane van Gisbergen and Greg Murphy rounded out the top five.

One of the other good stories was from the camp of Paul Dumbrell, whose team worked a miracle to get his battered car repaired in time for today’s qualifying session, after he failed to take the start in yesterday’s race when he crashed heavily in Saturday qualifying.

The second 200km event will get underway at 3:05pm local time, and we’ll bring you the latest results and championship standings our race report.


V8 Supercars ITM400 Hamilton Qualifying Results (Race 2):

Driver Team Result
1. Rick Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s Racing 1:27.2478
2. Todd Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s Racing + 0.7568
3. Steve Owen Holden VIP Petfoods + 0.8438
4. Shane van Gisbergen Ford SP Tool Racing FPR + 1.2237
5. Greg Murphy Holden Pepsi Max Crew + 1.2977
6. Lee Holdsworth Holden Fujitsu Racing GRM + 1.5744
7. Alex Davison Ford Irwin Racing + 1.7100
8. Craig Lowndes Holden Team Vodafone + 1.7767
9. Jamie Whincup Holden Team Vodafone + 1.8209
10. Will Davison Ford Trading Post FPR + 1.8265
11. Paul Dumbrell Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team + 1.8658
12. Tony D’Alberto Ford Wilson Security Racing + 1.9429
13. James Courtney Holden TOLL Holden Racing Team + 2.1130
14. Steven Johnson Ford Jim Beam Racing + 2.3393
15. Tim Slade Ford Lucky 7 Racing + 2.3926
16. Michael Caruso Holden Fujitsu Racing GRM + 2.8205
17. Russell Ingall Holden Supercheap Auto Racing + 3.1080
18. Dean Fiore Ford Triple F Racing + 3.5368
19. Garth Tander Holden TOLL Holden Racing Team + 3.6937
20. Jason Bargwanna Holden Jana Living Racing + 3.9974
21. Mark Winterbottom Ford Orrcon Steel FPR + 4.0745
OUTSIDE 105% 1:31.6102
22. Warren Luff Holden Gulf Western Oil Racing + 4.5033
23. Karl Reindler Holden Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing + 4.6652
24. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC + 4.9347
25. Fabian Coulthard Holden Bundaberg Racing + 5.0014
26. David Reynolds Holden Stratco Racing + 6.4787
27. Jonathon Webb Ford Mother Energy Racing Team + 6.9195
28. James Moffat Ford Jim Beam Racing + 7.1912

[Image via Kelly Racing; video via V8 Supercars]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.