Team Vodafone’s Jamie Whincup has secured pole position for the first race of this weekend’s Trading Post Perth Challenge at Barbagallo Raceway.

Jamie Whincup took pole for today's first race at Barbagallo Raceway The former V8 Supercars champion led the way with a scintillating lap time of 56.0734 seconds in this morning’s 20-minute qualifying session, while Will Davison hauled his Ford Falcon around the circuit just 0.2 seconds slower to deny Team Vodafone a 1-2 on the grid for this afternoon’s race – Craig Lowndes was bumped to third place, but over half a second slower than his team-mate.

Video highlights from today’s qualifying session

Qualifying times are usually extremely close at Barbagallo Raceway, and just half a second covered P3 to P24 on the 28-car grid. The order was perhaps a little more jumbled than usual, and local boy Karl Reindler put in a career-best performance to qualify sixth-fastest.

Defending series champion James Courtney qualified seventh-fastest, while his TOLL Holden Racing Team team-mate Garth Tander had a rotten qualifying session on his home track, twice running off the circuit during the session on the way to a woeful 23rd place on the grid.

The first 50-lap race of the Trading Post Perth Challenge starts at 2.05pm local time (4.05pm AEST) today.


V8 Supercars Trading Post Perth Challenge Qualifying Results (Race 1):

Driver Team Result
1. Jamie Whincup Holden Team Vodafone 0:56.0734
2. Will Davison Ford Trading Post FPR + 0.2131
3. Craig Lowndes Holden Team Vodafone + 0.5398
4. Steven Johnson Ford Jim Beam Racing + 0.6256
5. Rick Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s Racing + 0.6313
6. Karl Reindler Holden Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing + 0.6451
7. James Courtney Holden TOLL Holden Racing Team + 0.6490
8. Alex Davison Ford Irwin Racing + 0.6545
9. James Moffat Ford Jim Beam Racing + 0.6672
10. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC + 0.6957
11. Lee Holdsworth Holden Fujitsu Racing GRM + 0.7710
12. Mark Winterbottom Ford Orrcon Steel FPR + 0.7789
13. Michael Caruso Holden Fujitsu Racing GRM + 0.7849
14. Paul Dumbrell Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team + 0.8097
15. David Reynolds Holden Stratco Racing + 0.8110
16. Shane van Gisbergen Ford SP Tool Racing FPR + 0.8339
17. Steve Owen Holden VIP Petfoods + 0.8973
18. Jonathon Webb Ford Mother Energy Racing Team + 0.9040
19. Tim Slade Ford Lucky 7 Racing + 0.9114
20. Russell Ingall Holden Supercheap Auto Racing + 0.9245
21. Jason Bargwanna Holden Jana Living Racing + 0.9312
22. Greg Murphy Holden Pepsi Max Crew + 0.9629
23. Garth Tander Holden TOLL Holden Racing Team + 0.9796
24. Dean Fiore Ford Triple F Racing + 1.0668
25. Todd Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s Racing + 1.0840
26. Warren Luff Holden Gulf Western Oil Racing + 1.1133
27. Fabian Coulthard Holden Bundaberg Racing + 1.1380
28. Tony D’Alberto Ford Wilson Security Racing + 1.4375

[Original image via Team Vodafone]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.