Whincup headed a Team Vodafone 1-2 in the opening race at Barbagallo today

Jamie Whincup has headed home a Tem Vodafone 1-2 in the opening V8 Supercars race of this weekend’s Trading Post Perth Challenge at Barbagallo Raceway.

The former champion converted his pole position into a race lead at the start of the 50-lap race, but he was to find himself coming under pressure from team-mate Craig Lowndes in the second half of the race.

Starting from third place, Lowndes had dropped to fourth behind Steven Johnson at the start, but his good result owed plenty to making a smart pit stop strategy early in the race, pitting on lap 14 and electing to change just two tyres.

By contrast, Whincup stayed out much longer until lap 28 – he also took on four tyres when he pitted – and emerged fractionally ahead of Lowndes, who had steadily made up ground through the field.

The two Holdens then in formation until the end of the race, with Whincup ensuring he did enough to keep Lowndes’ victory aspirations at bay.

Highlights from the opening race of the Trading Post Perth Challenge from Barbagallo

Whincup’s fellow front-row starter Will Davison completed the podium with third place, while Shane van Gisbergen staged an impressive rise up the order to finish in fourth, having qualified just 16th.

Johnson finished in fifth place ahead of Jason Bright, while Karl Reindler finished a career-best seventh, backing up the outstanding qualifying result he achieved this morning. The top-ten was completed by Mark Winterbottom, Rick Kelly and reigning V8 Supercars champion James Courtney.

Despite several panel-running incidents during the race, Paul Dumbrell was the race’s only retirement, after a collision with James Moffat sent him sliding into the gravel trap at the final corner.

Tomorrow sees the drivers stage two more 50-lap races – both using the soft-compound Dunlop tyres for the races – with the grid order to be determined by another qualifying session. The fastest lap times for each driver will determine the starting order for Race 2, while the second-fastest lap times will determine the grid order for the final race.


V8 Supercars Trading Post Perth Challenge Final Classification (Race 1 – 50 laps):

Driver Team Result
1. Jamie Whincup Holden Team Vodafone 49:38:6955
2. Craig Lowndes Holden Team Vodafone + 0.9041
3. Will Davison Ford Trading Post FPR + 6.7397
4. Shane van Gisbergen Ford SP Tool Racing FPR + 8.1306
5. Steven Johnson Ford Jim Beam Racing + 11.1240
6. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC + 14.8305
7. Karl Reindler Holden Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing + 17.6138
8. Mark Winterbottom Ford Orrcon Steel FPR + 21.1226
9. Rick Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s Racing + 21.9802
10. James Courtney Holden TOLL Holden Racing Team + 22.3162
11. Jason Bargwanna Holden Jana Living Racing + 30.6765
12. Michael Caruso Holden Fujitsu Racing GRM + 32.3514
13. Garth Tander Holden TOLL Holden Racing Team + 32.7136
14. Russell Ingall Holden Supercheap Auto Racing + 33.1191
15. Greg Murphy Holden Pepsi Max Crew + 33.3054
16. Lee Holdsworth Holden Fujitsu Racing GRM + 34.1442
17. Steve Owen Holden VIP Petfoods + 34.3813
18. James Moffat Ford Jim Beam Racing + 34.5738
19. David Reynolds Holden Stratco Racing + 35.8248
20. Jonathon Webb Ford Mother Energy Racing Team + 36.5063
21. Alex Davison Ford Irwin Racing + 40.2178
22. Tim Slade Ford Lucky 7 Racing + 40.4429
23. Fabian Coulthard Holden Bundaberg Racing + 40.8537
24. Dean Fiore Ford Triple F Racing + 50.6872
25. Tony D’Alberto Ford Wilson Security Racing + 54.8532
26. Warren Luff Holden Gulf Western Oil Racing 1 lap behind
27. Todd Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s Racing 1 lap behind
DNS Paul Dumbrell Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team 40 laps

[Images via Team Vodafone]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.