Jason Bright has taken his second race win in as many rounds after claiming victory in his Brad Jones Racing Holden Commodore in today’s second race at the V8 Supercars Jason Bright celebrates his Race 2 win with Jason RichardsChampionship round at Winton Raceway.

The former V8s champion used a late pit-stop strategy to great effect, taking advantage of much more superior tyre grip to charge through the field to take the win in today’s 67-lap race.

After his second pit stop for fresh rubber, Bright was down in eighth place, by he scythed up the order. Wth five laps to go, he took third from Michael Caruso, and then passed Garth Tander on the next lap to find himself in second place.

And Jamie Whincup was now Bright’s next target, and the Team Vodafone driver would find his long-standing race lead demolished in the space of two laps as Bright closed up the 2.5 seconds onto the leading Commodore.

Heading into Turn 1, Bright made his move and a popular race win was assured. Just a few seconds after crossing the finish line, the dark clouds that had hung overhead after qualifying finally released their contents, soaking the circuit.

Fittingly, Bright was joined on the podium by Jason Richards, the team’s long-standing driver who has been sidelined by adrenal cancer. Bright dedicated his Race 2 win at Barbagallo Raceway to Richards – who was in the United States at the time receiving treatment – and the thrill at sharing the celebrations together was clear for all to see.

Watch all of the highlights from today’s Race 2 action at Winton Raceway here

But before Bright’s charge in the final stages, there had actually still been a very enjoyable race up and down the field.

Whincup and Tander were the main contenders for the race win, and both passed pole-sitter Mark Winterbottom – suffering from horrible rear tyre wear – before the first round of pit stops. Winterbottom would eventually finish a disconsolate 19th.

After the first series of pit stops, Tander managed to close the gap to Whincup and took the lead just before half-distance – only to find their positions would swap when the pair pitted for the second stops nose-to-tail and Tander found himself unable to get going from hit pit bay.

But when Bright worked his magic, this left Whincup and Tander to squabble over second and third place – Tander himself just managed to fend off Shane van Gisbergen’s efforts to relieve him of third place.

Like Bright, Fabian Coulthard used a late pit strategy to great effect to finish fifth after a problem-ridden qualifying session that saw him start from a lowly 14th. The top ten was completed by Michael Caruso, Craig Lowndes, Steven Johnson, James Moffat and Steve Owen.

Reigning champion James Courtney’s poor qualifying result put him a tight squeeze when the inevitable wheel-banging reared its head in the opening laps, and he lost plenty of time pitting for repairs to his Holden.

With the next round in late June at Darwin, Whincup’s win and second place sees him extend his championship lead over team-mate Craig Lowndes to almost 300 points, while Tander and Bright follow closely behind to complete the top-four. Van Gisbergen is a further seven points behind in fifth and is the highest-placed Ford driver.


V8 Supercars Winton 300 Final Classification (Race 2 – 67 laps):

  Driver Entry / Team Result
1. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing 1:40:15.5814
2. Jamie Whincup Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Race Engineering + 1.5986
3. Garth Tander Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team + 2.9638
4. Shane van Gisbergen Ford SP Tools / Stone Brothers Racing + 3.2623
5. Fabian Coulthard Holden Bundaberg / Walkinsaw Racing + 11.5587
6. Michael Caruso Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 11.5792
7. Craig Lowndes Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Race Engineering + 16.2877
8. Steven Johnson Ford Jim Beam / Dick Johnson Racing + 17.3278
9. James Moffat Ford Jim Beam / Dick Johnson Racing + 17.5564
10. Steve Owen Holden VIP Petfoods / Paul Morris Motorsport + 27.5821
11. Greg Murphy* Holden Pepsi Max Crew / Kelly Racing + 32.5007
12. Jonathon Webb Ford Mother Energy Racing Team / Tekno + 36.5075
13. Tim Slade Ford Lucky 7 / Stone Brothers Racing + 38.4275
14. Jason Bargwanna Holden Jana Living / Brad Jones Racing + 39.5989
15. Lee Holdsworth Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 39.9719
16. Alex Davison Ford Irwin / Stone Brothers Racing + 40.7405
17. Rick Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing + 40.7720
18. Paul Dumbrell Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team / Rod Nash + 41.2003
19. Mark Winterbottom Ford Orrcon Steel / Ford Performance Racing + 43.2948
20. David Reynolds Holden Stratco Racing / Kelly Racing + 50.4328
21. Tony D’Alberto Ford Wilson Security / Tony D’Alberto Racing + 1:00.3536
22. Warren Luff Holden Gulf Western Oil Racing / Lucas Dumbrell + 1:13.6330
23. Karl Reindler Holden Fair Dinkum Sheds / Brad Jones Racing + 1:15.8861
24. Will Davison Ford Trading Post / Ford Performance Racing + 6 laps
25. James Courtney Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team + 7 laps
DNF. Dean Fiore Ford Triple F Racing 15 laps
DNF. Todd Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing 2 laps
DNF. Russell Ingall Holden Supercheap Auto / Paul Morris Motorsport 2 laps

*The Stewards excluded Car #11 Greg Murphy from the Results of Qualifying for the use of non-control wheels.

[Image via Brad Jones Racing, video via V8 Supercars]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.