Mark Winterbottom took pole for Race 2 at Winton

Ford Performance Racing’s Mark Winterbottom took his and the team’s first pole position of the 2011 V8 Supercars Championship season in qualifying for the second race of this weekend’s Winton 300 round. It is his first pole position since the Symmons Plains round in November last year.

‘Frosty’ – who voices an Australian car in the upcoming Cars 2 animated feature by Disney/Pixar – clocked a 1:22.5338 on a semi-dry Winton track, less than 0.09 seconds quicker than yesterday’s race-winner and championship leader Jamie Whincup.

A brief shower hit the circuit before today’s twenty-minute qualifying session, and it became imperative for drivers to clock as many laps as possible, in the hope that the track would dry enough before the end of the session.

But the damp conditions still managed to catch out some drivers – Whincup, for example, ran off-track as he attempted to wrest provisional pole from Winterbottom.

Watch video highlights from today’s Race 2 qualifying session at Winton Raceway

Steven Johnson followed up his solid performance yesterday with another top-three qualifying result in qualifying, and he shares the second tow with TOLL HRT’s Garth Tander.

The third row is occupied by Michael Caruso and yesterday’s pole-sitter Craig Lowndes. The top ten is completed by David Reynolds, Jason Bright, Shane van Gisbergen and Tim Slade.

A suspected drivetrain failure saw Fabian Coulthard sidelined for the second half of the session, and he finished up 14th-fastest.

Yesterday’s second-placed finisher Lee Holdsworth will start 11th, while defending champion James Courtney had yet another torrid qualifying session and will start from 20th place.

Greg Murphy has his times excluded after stewards ruled that his Commodore was not fitted with the correct factory control wheels for the session.

Today’s 67-lap race starts at 1:05pm local time.


V8 Supercars Winton 300 Qualifying Results (Race 2):

Driver Entry / Team Result
1. Mark Winterbottom Ford Orrcon Steel / Ford Performance Racing 1:22.5338
2. Jamie Whincup Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Race Engineering + 0.0888
3. Steven Johnson Ford Jim Beam / Dick Johnson Racing + 0.1187
4. Garth Tander Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team + 0.1333
5. Michael Caruso Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 0.2010
6. Craig Lowndes Holden Team Vodafone / Triple 8 Race Engineering + 0.2185
7. David Reynolds Holden Stratco Racing / Kelly Racing + 0.2806
8. Jason Bright Holden Team BOC / Brad Jones Racing + 0.3136
9. Shane van Gisbergen Ford SP Tools / Stone Brothers Racing + 0.3308
10. Tim Slade Ford Lucky 7 / Stone Brothers Racing + 0.3353
11. Lee Holdsworth Holden Fujitsu Racing / Garry Rogers Motorsport + 0.3555
12. Rick Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing + 0.3617
13. Alex Davison Ford Irwin / Stone Brothers Racing + 0.4519
14. Fabian Coulthard Holden Bundaberg / Walkinsaw Racing + 0.4917
15. Will Davison Ford Trading Post / Ford Performance Racing + 0.5646
16. Tony D’Alberto Ford Wilson Security / Tony D’Alberto Racing + 0.5693
17. James Moffat Ford Jim Beam / Dick Johnson Racing + 0.6759
18. Todd Kelly Holden Jack Daniel’s / Kelly Racing + 0.6828
19. Paul Dumbrell Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team / Rod Nash + 0.7090
20. James Courtney Holden TOLL / Holden Racing Team + 0.8458
21. Jonathon Webb Ford Mother Energy Racing Team / Tekno + 0.8472
22. Jason Bargwanna Holden Jana Living / Brad Jones Racing + 0.8812
23. Dean Fiore Ford Triple F Racing + 0.9829
24. Russell Ingall Holden Supercheap Auto / Paul Morris Motorsport + 1.7390
25. Steve Owen Holden VIP Petfoods / Paul Morris Motorsport + 1.2445
26. Karl Reindler Holden Fair Dinkum Sheds / Brad Jones Racing + 1.3737
27. Warren Luff Holden Gulf Western Oil Racing / Lucas Dumbrell + 2.0164
EXC. Greg Murphy* Holden Pepsi Max Crew / Kelly Racing excluded

*The Stewards excluded Car #11 Greg Murphy from the Results of Qualifying for the use of non-control wheels.

[Image via Orrcon Racing, video via V8 Supercars]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.