Sebastian Vettel has thrown his and Red Bull’s hat into the ring as a threat to taking victory at this weekend’s Canadian Grand Prix, after the German went quickest in the Sebastian Vettel is now a contender for pole position at Canada final qualifying session in the lead up to qualifying later today. Vettel lapped three-tenths of a second faster than yesterday’s pace-setter Fernando Alonso, while Nico Rosberg made it three difference constructors in the top three positions.

Dark clouds hovered above the Circuit de Gilles Villeneuve for the entire session, but the drivers were spared any of Mother Nature’s surprises as track conditions remained dry for the whole hour’s duration. One driver who couldn’t get an ounce of luck if he tried is Mark Webber, who was rooted to pit lane after his Red Bull developed a KERS-related battery problem.

Behind the top-three, Felipe Massa continued to show his promising pace with the fourth-fastest time, ahead of the McLarens of Jenson Button and Lewis Hamilton who completed the top six. Muchael Schumacher was seventh-fastest and just 0.019 seconds off Hamilton’s fastest lap of the session, while Vitaly Petrov and the Force Indias of Adrian Sutil and Paul di Resta completed the top ten.

As again with the previous sessions on this semi-street circuit, drivers continued to explore the track’s limited run-off areas. Both Toro Rossos struggled with a lack of rear grip, with Rubens Barrichello, Pedro de la Rosa and Lewis Hamilton all taking trips across the grass during the session.

Pedro de la Rosa suffered a puncture and crashed at the end of the session

Just as the chequered flag was unfurled to mark the end of the session, de la Rosa – standing in for the unwell Sergio Pérez – slapped the Turn 4 wall after apparently suffering a right-rear puncture in his Sauber.



2011 Canadian Grand Prix – Free Practice 3 Session Times:

  Driver   Team Time Laps
1. Sebastian Vettel DEU Red Bull Renault RB7 1:13.381 21
2. Fernando Alonso ESP Ferrari F150° Italia + 0.320 21
3. Nico Rosberg DEU Mercedes GP W02 + 0.538 29
4. Felipe Massa BRZ Ferrari F150° Italia + 0.575 20
5. Jenson Button GBR McLaren Mercedes MP4-26 + 0.954 18
6. Lewis Hamilton GBR McLaren Mercedes MP4-26 + 1.088 16
7. Michael Schumacher DEU Mercedes GP W02 + 1.107 23
8. Vitaly Petrov RUS Renault R31 + 1.536 23
9. Adrian Sutil DEU Force India Mercedes VJM04 + 1.836 18
10. Paul di Resta GBR Force India Mercedes VJM04 + 1.862 17
11. Pastor Maldonado VEN Williams Cosworth FW33 + 1.931 19
12. Nick Heidfeld DEU Renault R31 + 1.969 22
13. Sébastien Buemi SUI Toro Rosso Ferrari STR6 + 2.757 17
14. Jaime Alguersuari ESP Toro Rosso Ferrari STR6 + 2.764 19
15. Kamui Kobayashi JPN Sauber Ferrari C30 + 2.855 21
16. Rubens Barrichello BRZ Williams Cosworth FW33 + 3.057 21
17. Pedro de la Rosa ESP Sauber Ferrari C30 + 3.325 22
18. Heikki Kovalainen FIN Lotus Renault T128 + 3.712 21
19. Jarno Trulli ITA Lotus Renault T128 + 4.142 24
20. Vitantonio Liuzzi ITA HRT F1 Cosworth F111 + 5.529 20
21. Timo Glock DEU Virgin Racing Cosworth MVR-02 + 5.692 19
22. Narain Karthikeyan IND HRT F1 Cosworth F111 + 5.832 22
23. Jérôme d’Ambrosio BEL Virgin Racing Cosworth MVR-02 + 7.094 19
24. Mark Webber AUS Red Bull Renault RB7 no time  

[Images via and Sutton Images]

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.